Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

what AV receiver to get

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by G1OSE, Jan 22, 2003.

1. G1OSE

G1OSE
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi im new on here
    i have been looking at getting a receiver for my room and then to take away with me when i move out (im a student you see)
    i mainly listen to music (hiphop r and b) and want the surround sound as well i have a fairly large sony system now but hasnt got the inputs i need good output though 350 watts i have a minidisc deck
    basically i need a
    multi cdplayer
    need a AV reciever roughly £350-£800
    a set of speakers £500- £1000
    i have heard the b&w dm 600 are good 604 front 602 rear and a center but because i dont really listen to surround as much as music is it worth all the extra on the rest of the speakers or should i get the 604 for music and then some cheaper for the rear i have seen some wharefedale diamond cinema for £200
    also is sony good for the receiver side of things i saw the 333ES but how is it compared to some thing like the denon 1803 for music?
    i need lots of help please can some one guide me through
    cheers

2. sounddog

sounddog

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +477
    What size room do you have ... from my experience with student rooms, DM600s3 would be more appropriate then DM604s3 :))

Victoria

3. G1OSE

G1OSE
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    OH ok i am a student but live at home and my room is about 8X4 so its fairly big so i think they should be ok
    also its gonna be on the move soon when i move out