1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what are the pros and cons

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by steve tyler, Jan 12, 2002.

1. steve tyler

steve tyler

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    of buying an imported x-box.I am new to gaming and would like to know before buying.thanx

2. brattle

brattle
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As opposed to waiting for a the UK release? Okay...

1. You get it now, plus games will be released earlier in the future too.
    2. It will cost the same, as the yanks get their consoles much cheaper than us. Sure you add on import duty and postage, but that about evens it out.
    3. Greater availability of games in the future. All major consoles in the past have had great games that have not been released in Europe. I doubt X-Box will be any exception.
    4. You are guaranteed games will run full screen and at full speed, without any borders or slowdown that some PAL releases suffer from. Even if all games were optimised for PAL, the frame rate would still be lower than NTSC.
    5. Games will have the option of Progressive scan and HDTV if you have the suitable equipment. Is has been rumoured that these features may be removed for the UK release as very few people have access to them (yet).

The only downside as I see it is that you can't just walk into a games shop and buy a game on impulse at normal price. There are import shops available, but the net is far, far cheaper.

3. monkeyleader

monkeyleader

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +90