1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What are the limitations of a DLP and LCD Projectors

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by vex, Mar 21, 2005.

1. vex

vex

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +261
    Not wanting to open the whole DLP is better (no it isnt) than LCD argument raging in another thread, but I am new to the pj idea and need to buy one tomorrow for a charity I am involved with. So to help with the decision I need to understand a few things.

What is the Rainbow effect in DLPs, how noticeable is it in very general PPoint presentations and DVD play out?

What is the (iirc) barndoor effect on LCDs and how does it effect the above presentation types?

Have been looking at the Optoma EP739 DLP projector from Projectorpoint at £805 + VAT

What alternatives are out thier at that price (can not break the £1000 inc vat mark)

2. PJTX100

PJTX100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +562
    Is it fixed installation or will it be carried around?

Will it be used for presentations / video / both?

If video what is the source - DVD, TV, SKY, VCR??

Will it be used by a small fixed audience or could it be seen by a wide variety of different people day to day?

Will it be used in a light controlled environemt (ie will it be dark?)

This info will help us to provide some advice...PJ :)

3. vex

vex

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +261
    Need a portable system as it will be shared by several different people and events.

Low to mid sized audience - upto 100 people / kids

Sources to be DVD, Video and PC. Only going to run composite signals for interconnect ease.

I am certain I need a higher lumins and contrast level as I can not garentee the darkness of a room and need to cover most eventualities.

Hope that helps.

Chris

4. Liam @ Prog AV

Liam @ Prog AV