Question What are the best types of cables to connect devices such as a PC to the iiyama 86" TE8668MIS-B1AG

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by AaronJordan, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. AaronJordan

    AaronJordan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I am looking for the best types of cables to connect the following devices to the iiyama 86" TE8668MIS-B1AG Interactive Display to get the best video quality:
    a. Laptop
    b. PC
    c. Sky Q Mini box
    d. Blu Ray Player
    e. AVR

    Noting that the Sky Q Mini box and Blue Ray Player are already connected to the AVR.

    What types of cables would you recommend for the scenario above?

    Thanks,
    Aaron
     
  2. razy60

    razy60
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +267
    Depending on the outputs then
    Display port pc and laptop
    HDMI for the rest.
     
  3. AaronJordan

    AaronJordan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,192
    Laptop - what do you have?

    PC - what do you have?

    AVR - what do you have?

    Is this being used in a Conference room and do you have to accommodate 'visitors' Laptops?

    Are you looking to install Table or Wall mounted connector plates?

    Joe
     
  5. AaronJordan

    AaronJordan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Laptop: HP 250 G6 Core i7-7500U
    PC: Dell XPS 8920
    AVR: Denon AVRX4300H

    - Yes it is for conference room.
    - Yes there may be visitors laptops.
    - This TV will be wall mounted

    Thanks,
    Aaron
     
  6. razy60

    razy60
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +267
    You could just connect everything with HDMI to the amp then HDMI to the screen then get a HDMI hub so that when visitors come they could plug into that or plug some HDMI lead's into the amp with maybe a converter for display port and whatever Mac uses for randoms.
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,192
    We would normally be specifying/installing a Table Top ‘cubby’, Wall Plate or both - depending on the Room/Room Layout.

    AVR - you have to be careful with including those in the digital Video Path as they usually only Support HDTV resolution and Refresh rates whilst you may want to be running at the higher Refresh rates your PC/MAC are capable of.

    VC - what about Video Conferencing?

    I would be looking at a local AV specialist to handle the cabling/switching based on your requirements and let them deal with the potential headaches a typical ‘Conference’ Room with Interactive Screen introduces.

    Joe
     
  8. AaronJordan

    AaronJordan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks razy60 and Joe for your inputs.

    We have connected most devices through HDMI but we were unsure what the best cable to use for connecting devices to iiyama 86" TE8668MIS-B1AG was as to get the best video quality.

    We have planned to use the iiyama 86" TE8668MIS-B1AG for the following:

    - Brainstorming sessions (where people could connect up their laptops and demonstrate ideas)
    - Watch programs with Sky
    - Watch movies with Blu-ray player
    - Meetings (where the display itself may only be used for drawing on and illustrating ideas)

    We would like this display to cover most functions people require so it may be used for video conferencing.

    Would a HDMI hub be the way to go by way of something like a Table Top cubby or something like it or is there any other solutions which could be better?

    Thanks,
    Aaron
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,192
    VC - what are you considering? Mic/Speaker/Camera placement needs to be planned out and integrated with your other devices.

    Connectivity - Table Top is usually a must have, often multiple points if it is a large table. Wall or Floor plates too.

    If you have a suspended floor the cables usually will run in the void.

    Switch - we have a simple 3+1 HDMI+VGA Switch which works well in 'simple' rooms, https://tmfsolutions.co.uk/product/hd3vga/

    Wireless - we often have a MAC Mini/ATV or similar bolted to the rear of the display as some folk prefer that option, esp. with Macs with limited connectivity.

    Control - happy with multiple Remotes or do you want to pull it all together on a Tablet?

    Getting a conference room 'right' is key to its use and best put in the hands of someone who knows what they are doing.

    Joe
     
  10. AaronJordan

    AaronJordan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    We have not gone too far in what we have decided for video conferencing.

    We have speakers built into our wall and connected through AVR.

    These speakers may be connected to our display.

    How would the tablet be used instead of multiple remotes?

    Thanks,
    Aaron
     
  11. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,192
    VC - speaker positioning relative to Mics can be important.

    Control - you would use Control hardware plus an App. to bring the system together with a custom GUI to make using your room simple.

    Joe
     
  12. AaronJordan

    AaronJordan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would this control hardware emulate each remote controls actions?

    If our WiFi turned off, would this control hardware still work?

    Thanks,
    Aaron
     
  13. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,192
    You normally create ‘Activities’ at the top level with additional pages to emulate the Remotes.

    You can have a wired or wireless solution with the option of Desktop PC/MAC control too.

    Joe
     
  14. AaronJordan

    AaronJordan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Joe,

    You had recommended the following switch:
    https://tmfsolutions.co.uk/product/hd3vga/

    Would the switch you recommended work with connecting both Windows and Mac PCs to a TV via HDMI cable?

    Thanks,
    Aaron
     
  15. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,192
    Assuming the PC or MAC are Outputting a Signal via HDMI that the Switch and TV support then Yes.

    If you have a VGA equipped device you can also hook that to the Switch and the Switch will convert it to a digital 1080p signal which will Output via the Switch HDMI Out.

    Ideally you will disable sleep modes on your PC/MAC(s) as otherwise they can be problematic when connecting via a Switch (any Switch) - if that is not possible you may have to add in an EDID Manager between the PC/MAC and the Switch.

    Joe
     
  16. AaronJordan

    AaronJordan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Joe,

    The TV we have is a 4K TV.

    Does this mean that if we connect our laptop to this TV then the quality will be reduced to accommodate the laptop?

    If so, is there a way to keep the quality that the TV displays while the screen of the laptop/ PC is casted onto the TV screen.

    Thanks,
    Aaron
     
  17. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,192
    Connectivity - something you have to keep in mind here is the 'Touch' capabilities of your Display, that will likely dictate how you connect some or all of your devices to the Display and Sound system.

    'Does this mean that if we connect our laptop to this TV then the quality will be reduced to accommodate the laptop?' - your Display has 3840x2160 pixels. Every signal you Input to the Display 1080i, 720p, 1080p, VGA, XGA... are all remapped by the Display to fill all of the pixels on the Display (or some of the pixels in the Display if you change the Display aspect ratio).

    If your Laptop is not capable of Outputting 3840x2160 the image will be 'up-converted' by the Display - if that looks soft there may be the option to go into Pixel to Pixel mode on the Display so you only part 'fill' the screen but keep the smaller image sharp.

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice