Question What are good LED dimmable spotlights?

techno79

I want to get some good value for money LED dimmable spotlights and their associated holders/sockets as I have many that I'll need for my new house renovation (probably around 80 to 100 spotlights). However, someone mentioned that some of the really cheap low quality ones will hum or make noise even though they were described as LED dimmable spotlights.

I do not want any poor quality lights like these no matter how cheap. What's the lowest cost ones I can get that still deliver good performance?

The spotlights will initially be controlled via classic the manual rotary style dimmer switch, but I hope to change the switches in the not to distant future to modern switches with which will either be smart themselves or using a smart module like a Shelly.

What's a good quality LED dimmable spotlight and holder solution?

neilball

I’ve been using Megaman dimmable GU10 lamps for many years now and with a variety of dimmers, from classic rotary wall dimmers to full while-house lighting control systems. They have a good filming curve, and no flicker, and with only one or two early failures from many hundreds of lamps. The 2800k warm white is a nice alternative to halogen, and they also have dim-to-warm versions that give a warmer light temperature as they dim down, replicating the colour temperature of a dimmed filament lamp.

Megaman have a range of other lamp types, and the colour temperatures are a good match between all lamp types, which is handy when you have a mixture of fittings on a room.