Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

What amp + speakers (on a student budget!)

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by onewingedangel, Sep 11, 2003.

1. onewingedangel

onewingedangel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +29
    What Amp + speakers would you reccomend on a students budget of approx. £250 but preferrably cheaper. PLII would be preferred as I have a lot of DD 2.0 dvd's, as well as the usual dolby and dts 5.1 disks.

2. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
    I'm a student and managed my AV kit on my budget - worked my arse off to get it though!

I'd suggest you'd be better off buying in stages as otherwise you'll regret spending the money early on and having to upgrade almost immediately.

I'd recommend you got a good AV amp - any of the Marantz or Denon range should do you fine, and a good pair of reasonable sized stereo speakers - probably stand mount as they're cheaper, maybe Mission M72's or similar.

This will be a colossal improvement over your TV (and possibly hifi) in itself but provides easy upgrades (centre and rear speakers) as soon as you've got some cash. I understand you wanting (needing!) 5.1, but I'm sure other forum members will agree that this is a sensible way to go.

3. pwiles1968

pwiles1968

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9