What am i doing wrong with ps3 blu-ray sound?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by BenRC, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. BenRC

    BenRC

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +608
    im really struggling with Blu-Ray movies through a 2.1 speaker set up.

    Games sound great, no problems there, but the movies seem a bit quiet in places, especially when ppl are talking. Im having to turn the volume up to hear conversations, then turn it down when the action scenes kick off.

    Its connected through an optical lead into my amp, and i have the ps3s sound settings all on 2 channel (un-ticked all the 5.1/aac options). tried a ton of combinations, but it seems i cant fix it. Its not like i cant hear the dialogue, but theres definately something not right.
     
  2. philbam

    philbam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Pontypool
    Ratings:
    +195
    Why do you only want 2 channel surround?
    To get the full monty, so to speak, tick the 5.1 option and get the surround 'correctly' mixed.
     
  3. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +134
    Hi,

    Have you tried adjusting the settings on the amp for 2-channel?

    I'm not sure what audio output options you're getting out of your blue ray player but you'll need to set the amp to handle the audio output (for 2-channel or prologic) as well.

    Brian
     
  4. BenRC

    BenRC

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +608
    so i should tick the 5.1 option even though ive only got a 2.1 set up?

    wont it try to send signal to speakers that arent there? (sorry im a noob at this)

    ive switched off the various surround options (dsp/pro logic) its a pretty old amp so it doenst have anything fancy.
     
  5. BenRC

    BenRC

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +608
    nvm, fixed it, dont know how, theres that many friggin options, it just happened :p
     
  6. tmcg

    tmcg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Not that I have looked recently but have you checked out the audio settings on the ps3 menu?
     

Share This Page

Loading...