What about on the fly quick menu access...???

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jserrent, Feb 11, 2018.

Tags:
  1. jserrent

jserrent
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    I've been using Onkyo Receivers for the last 10 yrs. and never imagined as HD Audio became more demanding how useful their quick menu feature is.
    With no 2 movies ever being exactly the same, Ive saved many a subwoofer by leaving the sub level active from the quick menu in the display, with the remote in my hand, in case an overzealous sonic boom passage hits when you don't know its coming... ( Fried a sub voice coil on Intersteller with the rocket liftoff, started off ok and then the signal went off the charts !...didn't have the remote in hand...Wow did that smell...!)
    Also the center volume is right next to it .. as that is the next culprit that occasionally drifts slightly up and down depending on the mix demands of the movie...

So my question is :

What other receivers offer something like this feature..??? I wouldn't mind trying out some new equipment... but missing a quick tweak to sub, center, global bass and treble is a deal breaker for me.
    Even with the best balanced system, depending on the authoring of the disk, these small adjustments are necessary, and you shouldn't have to dig or scroll through menu pages while the movie is rolling....

2. Dolus

Dolus

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +164
    That's like driving a car with the accelerator fully depressed and controlling the speed by riding the clutch and then wondering where that burning smell is coming from. :)

How can you possibly enjoy a movie with a menu on the screen and having be quick on the draw with the remote? :(

3. Khazul

Khazul

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +654