What’s the best 85” for me..?

Coghill89

Standard Member
Hi folks, I’m looking for some advice on what TV to choose. Budget approx £3000. I have read lots of different forums and still am a little confused. I know some US models and UK models differ which doesn’t help me either as I don’t know which country the TV is being reviewed from.
Ideally I am after an 85” but may go slightly smaller. I will mainly use it for watching Sky Q (sports, movies, documentaries), 4K and HD movies and do very minimal gaming. I was set on the Samsung Q80t but I have read quite a few bad reviews regarding the colour, wide angles and people having to get their screens replaced.
I am no expert whatsoever so any help I would be very grateful.

Dodgexander

I believe the Sony XH9505 to be better value than Samsung models like the Q80T.
You can see all best buys in my guide here: **New** My best value TVs, 2020-2021 Edition

What kind of angle do you need to view the TV? Typically higher end LCD TVs have narrow viewing angles, and whilst TVs like the Sony XH9505 and Samsung Q95T have wider viewing angle filters, the viewing angles are not fantastic compared to an OLED.

The Samsung Q80T lacks this filter in Europe, but the North American Q80T includes it.

Not sure what you mean about people getting their screens replaced, you pretty much hear some bad things about every TV on here. Its because this is where people come when they have a problem, doesn't necessarily mean you will!

Stu75

I hate Samsung.I thought I was unlucky with my first 59" plasma,I wasn't.
My current PS64E8000 is another pile of crap so I would never recommend that brand.

Coghill89

Standard Member
I believe the Sony XH9505 to be better value than Samsung models like the Q80T.
You can see all best buys in my guide here: New My best value TVs, 2020-2021 Edition