Wharfedale Diamond 9.1's + Amp or Cambridge Audio SLA25's? Or Alternative?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by You Failed, Jan 6, 2012.

1. You Failed

You Failed
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I am looking to buy my first pair of speakers and I have very little experience with these things. My budget isn't very high, originally I only wanted to spend £150 max. I had decided on the Wharfedale Diamond 9.1's, which are £120 for the pair and quite highly rated, what I didn't realise is that I'd need an amp to go with them. I really can't afford to spend more than £100 on an amp, can I get one that will compliment the Wharfedale's for this price? I saw the Cambridge Audio Topaz AM1 is £80, would this be worth getting? Or are there other amps that are around the same price and better?

I was going to use them with my PC, get a sound card for ~£50, connect that to the amp and then run the speakers off the amp, would that work? How would it sound?

The alternative was a pair of Cambridge Audio SLA25s, which have an inbuilt amp and so can be connected straight to the PC and bypasses any soundcard, they're priced at £300 though. Would these sound better than the Wharfedale -> Amp -> Sound card option?

I also have a pair of HD555's, so ideally, if I was to get an amp, I'd want one that would allow me to connect my headphones as well.

So any ideas on which is the best option? Or any alternatives? £300 is really, really pushing my budget, but if it's going to create a better system then it might be worth it.

Thanks for the help.

2. mcnoiserdc

mcnoiserdc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +99
    Well you could look at edifier r1600T or m-audio av40... those are powered so you won't need an amp, and seem to be well accepted from reviews I have read around.

3. You Failed

You Failed
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0