Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 and Harman Kardon AVR 5000 in stereo with JBL sub

Trevor Reznik

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,
Ive just joined in. I currently have a Harman Kardon AvR 5000 as main amp and a pair of JBL N28 bookshelves as well as a pair of Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 i'd like to get your views if which will be the best pair to match the amp? I wanted a stereo setup only for music purposes. I don't know what it means by bright sounding or warm sounding. Right now im leaning on keeping the diamonds and selling the jbls, will it be a decent set up?

Thanks.

Do you already have both sets of speakers and the amp?

IMO it would be best to do a direct comparison, pick a song you know well and try it with both speakers in the same position at the same volume and keep the set that sounds best to you.

I personally have a set of Diamond 9.1s and I think they're excellent speakers. I have no experience with those JBLs though so I can't comment on them.

Thanks. Just received the JBLs i did the comparison, the mids are good but the highs are a bit harsh maybe because of the metal tweeters. The wharfedales are better sounding all around. The soft dome tweeters are unbelievably cool sounding. Will the harman kardon avr 5000 be a good amp inthe long run or should i be looking for stereo integrated amp to get the full potential of the diamonds?

You could try a different amp but if you're happy with the sound you get from your current setup then there's no real reason to change. What are you running as a source into the amp?

... which will be the best pair to match the amp?

I think you answered your own question.

... Just received the JBLs i did the comparison, the mids are good but the highs are a bit harsh maybe because of the metal tweeters. The wharfedales are better sounding all around. The soft dome tweeters are unbelievably cool sounding.