Question went to buy a tumble dryer and ended up looking at tvs...

Discussion in 'What Is The Best TV For You?' started by rykard, Jan 14, 2019.

1. rykard

rykard
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    we went to buy a new tumble dryer yesterday and ended up looking at TVs. I am at a loss as to what I am looking for, i've spent the last 30 mins skimming a number of articles, but they seem to bedated 2014.. So a total newbie could do with soime advice...

we currently have a 37" panasonic. We were looking up to 49" LG (£599), though a colleague has said the OS is dated and we'd be better off with a Sony (£639). Our budget is around £650, but I don't know what to look for.
    We generally watch HD channels through sky and prime and Blurays . We sit pretty much centrally to it between 2.8m and 3.2m away. We often watch movies in the dark, but everything else in the light.

Help please, your my only hope...
    Rich

2. sagaris99

sagaris99

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +301
    Christ knows what your colleague finds wrong with the LG OS.... for most reviewers, it’s the easiest and most intuitive to use, especially with the cursor interface and google/Alexa integration. Furthermore, Sony is not a brand one normally associates with a good stable easy to use OS, many on here complain about the sluggishness and usability..... not to say it’s bad, but the best rated OS is generally the LGs.

For 599 I’m guessing you we’re looking at the 49SK8100? It’s an okay tv, a better jump up would be to the 49SK8500 - this will be brighter and more colourful, better local dimming and blacks. Both will do give a pretty good all around performance, but the LGs use IPS panels, which are better for colour reproduction and improved viewing angles, at the expense of brightness and contrast.