1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird problem with my STR-DB1080

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by calypso, Apr 14, 2003.

  1. calypso

    calypso
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK, maybe I being picky.
    Spent most of yesterday setting up my new STR-DB1080.

    Must say I'm very pleased with the beast.

    Now for the problem.

    With my previous receiver (Samsung model of dubious pedigree), my Spy Game DVD played part of the soundtrack while the DVD's MENU was up.

    With the STR-DB1080, the movie plays well and the receiver detects 5.1 with no problem (set on auto dectect).

    There is however no sound at all when I bring up the DVD menu!

    Now I realise the menu sound is probably basic two channel, but shouldn't the receiver "auto detect" this?

    Thanks for any pointers.

    P.S. DVD-Receiver connection is Digital Coaxial, as recommended in the manual.
     
  2. calypso

    calypso
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bump!:clap:
    Anyone?
     
  3. Grimley

    Grimley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this happen with any other DVD's?
    Could be a prob with the player methinks.
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,183
    is your dvd player audio setup for "bitstream"?

    as basic 2 channel stereo and 5.1 are different types of signal
     
  5. calypso

    calypso
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Grimley,

    I've only had the 1080 for a couple of days, so I haven't had time to try all my DVDs.

    mjn,

    You probably hit on the solution.
    WHat should my DVD digital output be set as please?

    Many thanks to you both.
     
  6. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Obviously the DVD player has to be set to Bitstream otherwise the 1080 wouldn't detect the 5.1 audio score in the movie itself would it?
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,183
    but the issue is not with 5.1, but by the sounds of it, basic 2 channel stereo.

    I asked, is your dvd player audio setup for "bitstream"?

    I didn't imply whether this was wrong or right!
     
  8. calypso

    calypso
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +1
    mjn,

    Yes, I checked, it's set up for bitstream.

    Also checked other DVDs. Menu music comes through on the ones I tried. Strange.
     
  9. Grimley

    Grimley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It might be a compatiblity problem between the disc & the player,
    there was a problem with samsung players not being able to play certain discs (Matrix being one) some time ago.
    Take the amp back to where you bought it from & try another player & the same disc hooked up to the amp. If you bought the amp mail order, ask a friend who owns a player if you could borrow it in order to test the amp.

    Hope this helps
     
  10. calypso

    calypso
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Grimley.

    Actually my old receiver was a Samsung, not my DVD player (see my first post).

    I will try the new amp with a friend's DVD player this weekend as you suggest.

    Many thanks.
     
  11. Grimley

    Grimley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're welcome, sorry I thought the player you had was a Samsung, I didn't know they made stand alone A/V receivers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...