1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wedding advice!

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by geofftelforduk, Jul 26, 2005.

1. geofftelforduk

geofftelforduk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +151
    Guys, I am going to a friends wedding on Friday and I was wondering if anyone could provide me with a few tips!!

Heres the scenario!! I am not the main photographer, this is purely for my records!!

I have a 20D with a Sigma 28-135mm Macro Aspherical lens!! Can anyone please suggest the best Mode and associated settings if it is:

a) a dull day with mainly clouds in the sky!
    b) a sunny day!

I look forward to your comments!

PS. I have enough memory to shoot RAW!!

2. mjw123

mjw123

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32
    Probably the toughest scenario to get right. I'm no expert try and avoid the back light shining through the windows in church. Outside, try and get the subjects just in the shade so light is still good but not causing peope to squint. You don't really need much depth of field so low Fnumber (assuming light is ok)

Show us some of your results.

3. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    You won't be allowed to use flash during the service so you're going to need a wide aperture for inside the church, you'll have to bump up the iso to get the shutter speed up. Shoot in Raw

For group shots outside then you want a small aperture to get a good depth of field.
    With some luck the light will be good enough for F8 outside

It's inside that's going to be tricky.

I tell you one thing that you don't want to do. When the photographer is taking group photos ect don't copy him as it distracts the subjects, some end up looking at your camera, i've seen it happen.

4. geofftelforduk

geofftelforduk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +151