WDTV and WHS 2011 problems

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by deadmeat30, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. deadmeat30

    deadmeat30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hey,

    Im having some problems getting my movies that are on my Home server running WHS 2011 to show on my WDTV live box down stairs.

    Its not locating anything within the shared folder, or the media server folder.

    Has anyone else had these problems? how did you get round them? Im not that amazing with networks, but know a little, but i cant help feeling out of my depth on this one.

    I have done some searching and found this thread

    WDTV Live player can not access network shares on WHS 2011 RC!

    What is the computer browser? and how do i set it to automatic?

    if anyone could help ill be most helpful! Ill keep googling from some answers, but AVF i find is the best place for info.

    thanks,

    Alan
     
  2. niall campbell

    niall campbell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    buy a NAS with an ethernet connection and hook it up to your router

    WD My Book Live Personal Cloud Storage 2 TB Network Attached Storage: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

    store all your media on there

    either download Divx/ AVi files so anything can play them or use freemake.com to convert MKV to Divx

    your xbox will do all this and more !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! press the Big X on the xbox controller, scroll right to media, select source and select PC or NAS and play.

    I have 3 xbxoxs to stream and if you download the new apps like 4OD, CH 5 , tou tube etc your laughing. Hopefully BBC iplayer coming this year

    with a NAS no need for a PC on !
     
  3. deadmeat30

    deadmeat30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks, that doesnt help my situation out with my server....
     
  4. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,134
    Think you have to tell the WD box to mount the server, ie mount the drive.

    That i do with mine is to have a mount file on a usb stick with the location of the folders you want to access.
    Something like this:-

    xmount "//192.168.0.12/Movies" "Movies" cifs
    xmount "//192.168.0.12/Photos" "Photos" cifs
    xmount "//192.168.0.12/Video" "Video" cifs
    xmount "//192.168.0.12/Music" "Music" cifs
     
  5. deadmeat30

    deadmeat30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I now have my server displaying on media servers, but when i get into it, there are no files there. Im nearly bold over this! lol. Anyone got an idea? or have a good tutorial link. Really struggling now.
     
  6. deadmeat30

    deadmeat30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    anyone help?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice