WD tV

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by razzputin, Feb 3, 2009.

1. razzputin

razzputin
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi ,
    I am a complete noobie. I have read so much about this product now I am really confused.
    i want to buy it , an hdmi cable and watch movies. most are all labelled avi.But I know having said that , they are compressed in Divx. My Panasonic hd tv is connected through the 3 cables (composite?) because my hd box did not have an hdmi outlet. This is in the extra room so it did not bother me until I wanted this WD TV player. I wondered if I used hdmi with this WD TV would it have any effect on the regular HD TV run through the component cables?
    Have had good success with Divx/avi and this product?
    Thanks in advance. I hope I gave enough info.

2. robtek70

robtek70

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    You shouldn't have any problems with this connected at the same time as your HD box. I have my WD TV attached to a Samsung tv with an hdmi cable. I also have connected another HD media steamer, a HD DVD player and a Playstation 3 conected via hdmi. Plus a XBox 360 connected via component and Archos 704 via SVideo, A DVD recorder and PVR via scart and have no problems with any of them.

The HD TV player almost every files I have tried with just the occasional one having problems and usually its because it has been encoded with a non standard codec.

If you want to play HD movies files which have a DTS soundtrack then the player needs to be conected to an AV amp which accepts a dts audio track otherwise no sound is heard.

Comparing this to the other HD media streamer I have, which cost over twice as much, I find there is no difference with the quality of the output. The only difference is that this player doesn't have a network port therefore is unable to stream across a network

3. razzputin

razzputin
    Standard Member