Warner Brothers HD-DVD's Disk Rot

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Donnacha, Apr 4, 2012.

  1. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    Hi,

    I've been reading on the net that Warner Bros. HD DVDs may have an issue with disc rot. So far I've had Superman and Batman Begins fail on me, both WB discs. Last night when I sat down to watch Batman again its stuttered and froze, eventually crashing the player....same with Superman a few months back which I replaced.

    I read over on the US AVS forum that WB are replacing discs for people with this issue. Anyone have any similar problems, or know of the contact details of WB in the UK to see if they will honour replacements?

    Thanks :smashin:
     
  2. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    not had an issue with Superman or Batman i have with other discs though, this is first i have heard of this issue. it may be your laser failing easy cheap 10 quid fix as well.
     
  3. toddy28

    toddy28
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +685
    I had issues with my ep 30 from new lots of disks stoping and skipping , got an xe1 now and not had one problem , watched batman again the other night
     
  4. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    Superman would stutter on the same place on both my players, but I haven't tried Batman on the other player yet. I think its a disc rather than player issue. I have emailed WB - see what they say!
     
  5. toddy28

    toddy28
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +685
    Let us no how you get on ;)
     
  6. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    No joy with Batman on xbox hd drive, awful stuttering and freezing! If I don't hear from warners I may just pick up a cheap replacement on here or amazon
     
  7. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    Result !!! Been in email communication with WB Home Video department and they have agreed to replace my two faulty discs ! Excellent service I thought ! They should be here next week, so will see if they are actually new HD DVDs or even blu rays!!! Will update once they've come through!
     
  8. skk3

    skk3
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Rushden, Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +242
    Isn't it great when a bit of good old fashioned customer service appears! :)
     
  9. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    Absolutely....a breath of fresh air! Hopefully none of my other WB discs start to fail or they may get fed up of me :)
     
  10. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    :thumbsup: great news , you could post the details here just in case anyone else has disc issues, was there any imperfections on the disc's as well i.e like disc rot?
     
  11. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    Quick update, package arrived yesterday from Warners - they actually replaced both discs with the Bluray equivalent ! Wasn't expecting that, but I suppose there are no new discs of those movies on HD DVD anymore. At least the blurays should last the term !

    Will post the contact details for anyone else that may have problems once I'm back home as I don't have their contact details to hand.
     
  12. stevefish69

    stevefish69
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +441
    Any chance of the contact details for who you dealt with for the dodgy discs.

    I tried watching 300 the other evening for the first time in years and it stuttered and refused to play :thumbsdow

    Got nothing to lose, so i'll see if i get anywhere
     
  13. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    any visible marks on the disc mate and what chapters were they? not cranked up the XE1 for a bit but i will try that disc.
     
  14. stevefish69

    stevefish69
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +441
    There are no visible marks on the disc. It freezes and fails within the first 30 seconds of playback. My Terminator 3 disc is marked with a cloudy / milky appearance though.

    I've mailed WB and await their response :)
     
  15. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    thanks mate, looked at my disc last night it was perfect not got T3.
     
  16. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    Sorry guys forgot to add details - will dig em out and post here

    EDIT - here we go, this is the address that WB contacted me from once I sent an email through their customer service area:

    [email protected]

    A nice lady called Diane helped me. I have her address also if you don't get any joy from the WB one.

    Good luck, hopefully they sort you out ! I'm afraid to start trying some of my other WB discs incase they are also suffering....they may get fed up of us looking for replacements !
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  17. generationgav

    generationgav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    410
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    Excellent! My Batman Begins hasn't been playing properly recently either, despite being in perfect condition. I thought it might be my HD-DVD player (despite never having had an issue before) so I might e-mail them.
     
  18. stevefish69

    stevefish69
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +441
    I got a free Blu Ray replacement for my 300 Disc that would not play - ill be keeping a close eye on my other WB discs and will get straight on their case if I have anymore problems :)
     
  19. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    ....well looks like I'm getting this problem again. Sat down to watch 300 again and it failed abut 30mins in !! So I started to test my other WB discs and had other problems:

    - The Island (dead, won't load)
    - Swordfish (dead, won't load)
    - Casablanca (stutters but plays)
    - V for Vendetta (stuttered then stopped, but I can skip chapter and rest plays fine)
    - Oceans Eleven (little stutter)
    - Unforgiven (wouldn't play on 360 but fine on PC)
    - 300 (fails at certain points)

    Strangely all the ones that were really bad are european / UK based, i.e. fat cases !!

    I've emailed WB again to see if they are still honouring this. Will keep you all updated !!
     
  20. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    just tried Swordfish, Oceans Eleven,300 and there running fine but i am legend,we are Marshall and blood diamond give errors or not play i will try that email and see how it goes.
     
  21. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    I watched my "I am Legend" the other week (combo version) and it played fine !! It just seems to be hit and miss with these, no pattern !! Perhaps I need a big hard drive to start ripping anything that still works to ?
     
  22. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    this is my 2nd I am Legend as well, might be worth cleaning then some of the discs seem a bit cloudy as well and one did clean up well, sent an email but got no answer yet:(
    well you can get some big drives now this is not a bad 3TB drive WD as well Western Digital 3Tb WD30EZRX SATA 3 Caviar Green Hard Drive - Scan.co.uk
     
  23. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    Got an email from the contact I used last time - saying she'll pass my request to WB to see what they'll do about it. Fingers crossed !
     
  24. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    exact same email i got today :D
     
  25. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    Donnacha you had any other emails from WB yet ?
     
  26. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    No not yet! They wont be happy when I add more to the list of defects!
     
  27. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,220
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,363
    Still no response from WB - may have to try again !
     
  28. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    same here :mad: and got some more that have failed i.e harry potter discs, need to try them all in multiple players though.
     
  29. scartlead

    scartlead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +186
    I thought the old laser rot thing was something from and consigned to the past, ie certain LD's.....Have to check mine, though everything I've played has plyed no problem on my A1's
     
  30. namuk

    namuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,330
    thats what i thought i do not see the same type of rot though just cloudy but some clean ok but still not work, tryed a few paramount and universal and there ok.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice