Wap Pre Shared key No Longer Works!

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by kosovosteve, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. kosovosteve

    kosovosteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +52
    Hi all,

    Got in from work this evening and found that my PS3 would not sign me in. It turned out that it was not connecting to my netgear router. After many hours searching for the reason why it had done this (having worked perfrctly for months) I found that disabling the wap key security sorted the issue out. This means that I can now connect my PS3 to the net but can't use any sort of security.

    Any ideas?:confused:
     
  2. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    This happened to me ages ago but all I did was hard-reset my router and re-entered all the details in again (with a new passphrase for the key). Since then I've had no problems at all. Obviously you will have to change the "key" on all wireless devices connected. :smashin:

    HTH
     
  3. kosovosteve

    kosovosteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +52
    Tried that a few times mate with many different passkeys but still won't work.
     
  4. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Have you tried using WPA security instead?
     
  5. kosovosteve

    kosovosteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +52
    Does not work either.

    Only works when the security is turned off.:thumbsdow
     
  6. stu.artd

    stu.artd
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +333
    I've heard this before after people have upgraded the router firmware. However if you haven't made any changes to the router then it's very strange.

    I'm using a Netgear Router with WPA PSK security with my PC/PS3/X360 and have never had any problems. WEP is pretty poor, if you do get it fixed, try to run WPA instead.
     
  7. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Well this has got me completely stumped as it's a problem I've never come across. The only other thing I can suggest is trying another router and see if that sorts it, otherwise you may have to go wired. Is there a firmware update available for your particular model, if so it may be worth a shot.
     
  8. kosovosteve

    kosovosteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +52
    Was thinking about a firmware update for my router but the PS3 did connect to it for the first few months and then stopped all of a sudden. It still works fine with my Mac and I've just connected an Archos to the net via the router with WPA security on.

    Might try a new router just to see if it is the router or the PS3.

    Cheers for the input.

    Steve.
     

Share This Page

Loading...