want to buy progressive player - but which one (again!)

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by graham.myers, Sep 4, 2002.

  1. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've flitted between all the threads on which progressive endowed player to buy.

    denon a1 vs 3800 vs 2800 mk II vs tosh 900 /9500 / pioneer 963a

    ad nauseum

    To say the least I'm befuddled with the choice!!

    I want to plug a progressive player (that may in future be PAL Progressive tweaked) into my Sony VW10ht.

    I'm not bothered about SACD or DVD-A or MP3 or even macro vision disabled just multi region DVD and progressive (I'm happy with NTSC for now)

    I don't fancy spending £1700 on a player if I can help it but will if I have to (although if the wife asks it ws only 799)

    I want the best picture I can but I don't want to waste my money for things I wont see or use (the XLR plugs on 9500 for example)

    I'd like to buy from a UK based company so I can send it back if its faulty - I just don't fancy sending something back to hong kong or wherever. I dont mind £20 discs but £1000 kit is pushing it

    I know its a subjective topic but which would you plump for and what dealers are in the UK that can supply it already tweaked for multi region etc. I'll be contacting Seven Oaks in Leeds to see what they say - that was where I got my Sony autochanger from.

    Once this is in it'll be a trip from Gordon I hope to get it ISFe'd
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    NTSC PS only - you won't do better than the Tosh SD900E for £699.99 from www.leconcepts.com (IMHO)
     
  3. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats the kind of succint answer I was after.

    thanks for that
     
  4. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    The Philips 962 SA has a WORLDWIDE guarantee, you can get it repaired anywhere in the world. Thats got to be succint.
    Had mine 1 month now, no problems. Plays all discs, no strange artifacts, only 550 quid. PAL prog, NTSC prog. I also worried about the same things you did. Buy it . no regrets. If you want, come up to my neck of the woods and see it doing its stuff.
    I dont sell for HiVizone, I am just another customer and I am confident that it will be a sound buy.
     
  5. ajb

    ajb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester Area
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Karkus30

    I just wondered if you could explain the hivizone price for the 962sa to me?

    $590 = £377 for the player itself
    $100 = £63 for shipping

    Then, is VAT charged on the £377 for importing it? If so, this is another £66.

    I make that £506 all in. Anything else I have forgotten?

    Thanks for any help
    Andrew
     
  6. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    I second the Tosh 900 but if you wanna spend 3 times as much then the Arcam FMJ DV27 is the one.
     
  7. Wasabi

    Wasabi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SBC (Swedish Born Chinese)/lived in UK since 96, C
    Ratings:
    +32
    Ajb,

    I know that you have to add another 3.5% customs charge.

    So take 377*1.21=456 +63 = £519. That's a rough figure, depending on the exchange rate.
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,055
    I'm pretty sure that everything I've ever imported has had duty and VAT charged on the unit cost+shipping....

    Gordon
     
  9. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    but is it worth 3 times the price?
     
  10. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    3 times better for the price, doubtful, but it is a very good player. It does true PAL and NTSC progressive output and includes an audio delay to compensate.

    I read so many issues/problems with other players and firmware upgrades downloaded from the Internet, lip sync problems and pixelation that it was worth the investment in the FMJ.

    I use mine with a Sony VW11 and I'm happy with it. The only downside is that it does suffer slightly with the Chroma Bug but this is only really visible on animated films... so just reduce the colour settings!
     
  11. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    According to HM customs & excise
    (http://www.hmce.gov.uk/forms/notices/143.htm)

    Import duty is applied to the cost of the goods AND the cost of postage.
    VAT is applied to the cost of the goods AND postage AND duty! - barstards!

    If (as someone said previously) the import duty is 3.5% then by my calculations the 962sa will be
    £377 + £64 + import duty (assuming 3.5%) + vat = £536.73

    You will possibly get charged a customs handling fee from the courier (some couriers will pay all customs charges and then charge you plus a fee to get it delivered quickly) so the quoted price of £550 all in is about right. Still very good value if you ask me, I am on the verge of ordering one myself....
     
  12. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a happy Arcam DV27 owner, now just for the SDI link :D
     
  13. jonny m

    jonny m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    ajb
    I think you just multiply the whole lot (inc postage) by 1.225 (vat+customs)

    the other dishonest way around this is to get hifizone to lower the cost of the goods +shipping on the import doc and you will only get charged vat+customs on that.

    j
     
  14. ajb

    ajb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester Area
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi guys

    As of now, hivizone are sold out. Before you ask, I didn't get the last one either.........

    Thanks for all the help anyway
    Andrew
     
  15. infomatique

    infomatique
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That has always been my experience (in fact you also pay VAT on the duty) that's why they call it Value Added Tax ... however I am based in the ROI but as the regulations are EU wide I cannot believe that the UK is any different.
     
  16. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Its all a bit academic now........if thats correct about HiVizone.

    But they charge duty and Vat on the whole cost of goods and shipping, then you pay another 12.00 to datapost in this company. Before you ask......I couldnt be bothered to argue:rolleyes:

    I just ripped into the packaging to check it was a genuine, fully working player....and it was:D :D :D
     
  17. ajb

    ajb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester Area
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi

    It would appear that its (relatively) easy to turn an ordinary 962sa with the DCDi logo on the front into an all-singing all-dancing multi region PAL prog player. The only thing is where to source the 962sa from.

    America?
    Australia?
    New Zealand?

    I can't believe that hivizone are the ONLY company in the world who had their hands on this player.

    What do you all think?
    Andrew
     
  18. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    somewhere on this forum Australia was mentioned, alternatively its obvious that its hackable, so just obtain the American or Asian version with the dcdi logo.
     
  19. ajb

    ajb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester Area
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi again

    But where can this player be sourced from? I've spent quite a few hours searching for australian or nz sites now with the 962sa on...

    Regards
    Andrew
     
  20. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Sorry, cant remember, I came across a thread a few weeks back, either this site or the american forum. The Australian site was mentioned.
     
  21. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Just done a search, but it appears that the trail goes cold on a thread which involved Amelia, she tried getting the shop she purchased from to supply . It appears they had no interest and thats where it stopped. May be worth posting a " does anyone know of online web sites" question. Maybe try USA ?

    Dont mean to gloat, but Im glad I bought mine when I did:)
     
  22. ajb

    ajb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester Area
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi

    That makes me feel so much........................... worse! :D

    Thanks a lot!
    Andrew
     
  23. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    I suppose they havent got a Q50 at HiVizone, thats if you were happy to buy one instead ?

    Sorry cant cheer you up. I could make one for you out of a corn flake packet, sprayed silver, which you could use as a stop gap.
     
  24. ajb

    ajb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester Area
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi

    Thanks for the Blue Peter style answer. Very funny for the morning....

    Cheers
    Andrew
     
  25. ChrisOfTheOT

    ChrisOfTheOT
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South West of England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't hear the Philips Q50 (or the Q40) mentioned very much but they seem to be well spec'd players.

    Are they as good as they look on paper? (I'm guessing they're both progressive scan & component out...)

    Chris
     
  26. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, I have been looking into the Q50 today actually, cost from hivizone to the uk including shipping, duty and vat is going to be under £450.

    You can get the European model a lot cheaper but it does not do any prog scan!

    Looks like latest firmware has sorted out the teething problems this player had when first released. Seems the 962sa has slightly better pic quality but from what I have read there does not seem to be a lot in it.

    hivizone asian model does ntsc and pal prog scan and all region.

    If your not interested in SACD (which I am not) then it could be a potential winner.

    Look here for some very technical tests that I did not understand (but the Q50 seems to come out quite well):
    http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volume_8_3/dvd-benchmark-progressive-shootout-2-8-2001.html
     
  27. ChrisOfTheOT

    ChrisOfTheOT
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South West of England
    Ratings:
    +0
  28. Kitch

    Kitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    Messages:
    606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nr Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +200
    hi

    the phillips q50 from hivizone will set you back around £420
    thats everything in

    when ordering the player there is a request box, all i put in this box was ' could you please mark the value of the player to $200'

    the total charge i paid to parcelforce was £47.20(thats inc.vat,duty and a holding fee or something like that

    my creditcard was charged £370 for the player

    i am very impressed with the q50 it does everything that hivizone said it would do
    i have it connected to a ae100 through a chord co. component cable
    my old player was a whalfdale 750 :blush: and there is no surprise that the results from the q50 over the 750 have improved, imho i'd say 50% improvement (but thats me and of course i've got to justify the outlay)

    regards
    mick

    http://uk.photos.yahoo.com/kitch_homecinema
     
  29. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    There you go AJB, no need for tears.............unless you want the SACD of course, then its back to the corn flake box.:rolleyes:
     
  30. ajb

    ajb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester Area
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi all

    Who knows... I might have a trick or two up my sleeve yet. Will let you know if I can sort something out. Should be this week sometime.

    From all I have read, the 962 does have a *slightly* better picture than the q50.

    Kind regards
    Andrew
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice