Want to buy a Projector but don't know what to buy

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by WeegyAVLover, Jan 8, 2012.

1. WeegyAVLover

WeegyAVLover

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,605
    Okay...

I am in the process of doing up the livingroom - pictures will follow when progress is made - and I want to buy a projector and screen.

However I am total novice on the projector and screen front so I am looking for some advice and help.

I obviousy want n HD projector - however a projector with 3D is a "nice to have" rather than a necessity.

Budget - I am not sure what sort of budget I need for a projector but if I said:
    prefer - ~£1200 / MAX £1500

Is this a reasonable budget? If I can get something for less that is great then brilliant.

I think I would prefer one that is black in colour but this is just asthetics.

The prjector is going to sit about 15ft from the screen - not sure if this makes much difference.

THE SCREEN:
    Plan is for this to sit in a recess so would like it to be motorised (not sure if this is something screens come with or you have to sort out seperately)?

Projector and screen are in the livingroom and it is not a dedicated Cinema room so will not be really dark. I am not sure if this does or should affect the colour choice of the screen?

I would really appreciate my fellow AVFers advice.

Thanks
    Col

2. kbfern

kbfern
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,027
    If the £1200-£1500 is for the projector only you have a few options.A screen could be from £100 for a cheap and cheerful up to thousands with choices in between depending on what quality you go for.