Want to build a NAS server but new to this and need help!

Reaction score
Hello so I have two PC's one upstraitrs and downstairs. The downstairs one is my htpc which is hooked up to my amp and TV. I have made this PC as silent as possible but my HDD still makes a slight noise (I'm am noise sensitive). I essentially want a Nas server/light browsing PC for upsitars so I can stream the films downstairs without any noise. I have a few issues though -

1) the main fibre socket is downstairs so I have to connect by WiFi on the upstairs PC (and or use home plugs)

2) the upstairs PC needs to be able to download stuff onto the HDD (not sure if I can do this from the htpc downstairs)

3) I use full bluray films and need DTS ma sound and don't want to compromise any quality while streaming the films.

Is this possible to do? If so where do I start?

I'm sorry I'm a total noob at NAS lol

Thanks

Get something like a HP N54L? You can stick 6 drives in it, low power.

I use it as a torrent/plex/media server. I use home plugs to stream 40/50GB rips.

A bit off topic, but if you want to further quieten your downstairs PC, you might like to consider swapping it's HDD to a solid state drive (SSD) which have no moving parts. SSD's cost a bit more that mechanical HDD's gigabyte-for-gigabyte, but for silent operation it might be a price you are prepared to pay. At time of writing a quick search at Amaz0n reveals 120GB SSD's available for less than GBP 50. Not huge by comparison with current multi-terabyte HDD's, but more than enough for hosting the OS and a bit of transient data. One caution I'd sound about SSD's is that a while ago, there was much talk about ensuring OS supported "TRIM" if you want to use SSD, to even out the "wear" on them. I'm not sure what the current status quo is with this, but I'd sure a bit of Googling "SSD + TRIM" will reveal all if no-one here knows.