Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Want big screen which route? 42WH36 or PTA300EC projector?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by SilverPenguin7, Nov 2, 2003.

1. SilverPenguin7

SilverPenguin7

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hi everyone, I have a couple of questions regarding rear projection and projector screens. I'm kinda new to these technologies so please be patient. I have read various threads on here about these subjects but have a couple of questions that I couldn't completely find the answers I wanted.

I am thinking about upgrading my small 28" Sony W/S for something bigger in the new year once I have paid a couple of small debts off.

Plasma is not an option right now due to a) price but mainly b) the picture delay (lip sync) issues I keep reading about that would drive me nuts.

So a projector or rear projection tv are the way to go I think. The living room is roughly 12ft square and various bits of furniture will make it hard to descretly hide the projector, plus I have heard a lot about this chicken wire business on LCD projectors. Although I was looking at the Panasonic PTA300EC which is supposed to be fairly good. Can any owners answer a couple of questions for me:

1) How far off centre can you place the projector (if at all) when using keystone adjustment?
    2) How loud is the fan? If I used this it would be about a foot from me MAX unless it can be off centre, then it could be roughly 2-3 foot away.