Wanna buy a surround sound system really need help!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by generalf, Jan 20, 2008.

1. generalf

generalf

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there, I really really need help.
    Firstly I am a beginner at this and just want to get my system performing the best that it can be but I have lots of questions about the overall set up of my stuff.

I have the following:

Toshiba Regza 37 inch C Series LCD TV (this has 2 x HDMI inputs, 1 x Component Video input, 2 x scart sockets, 1 x standard Video and audio input, Digital audio out socket, DVB Common interface (?) and RGB/PC in socket). Phew.

I also have :

Sky HD
    Xbox 360
    PS3
    Ultimate Karaoke/multi region standard def machine.

I am away from home right now but want to sort out the connections so I can get it all geared up for my return.
    I think I know the best way to set these items up for the picture but I want to get a surround sound system to go with all of this and don’t know what to look for/how much to spend or what connections I will need to get the best out of the kit Ive got.

I was going to set up everything as follows:

Sky HD = HDMI lead straight to HDMI 1 on TV
    PS3 = HDMI lead straight to HDMI 2 on TV
    XBOX360 = Xbox HD lead straight to component video input on TV
    Karaoke machine in standard def straight to Scart 1 on TV
    Laptop to RGB/PC in on TV

Then I want the sound to come out in the best quality in the new kit and I have noticed the ‘digital optical out’ socket on my TV and I’m thinking can I just hook that socket up to a speaker system so whatever is on screen comes out of the new surround system?
    If so then I think that would be fine because I wouldn’t use more than one item at a time and therefore which system is best for that?