Wall mounting a plasma screen

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by AV Geeza, Apr 11, 2004.

  1. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Those of you that have already done this (on a solid wall), can you let me know what type, depth and size of wall plugs/bolts you used .

    Im looking at getting some expanding/anchor type bolts but I think that this may well be overkill.
    My heavy double radiotors are fixed using regular wall plugs, hence my my overkill statement.

    For reference I have a 42" screen and have the wall bracket from the powerbuy.

    Any tips and advice would be appreciated.

    TIA :smashin:
     
  2. BKATZ

    BKATZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, I used (504 & powerbuy wall mount)
    8 x "plasplugs" M8 x 80mm Hammer-in Concrete & Brick fixings.
    (bought from Homebase) Into solid brick wall.

    You can hang a tank from it !:D (no witty comments please!)


    Regards,

    B.:)
     
  3. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks BKATZ,
    Very helpful indeed!:smashin:

    Anyone else?
     
  4. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Go for over kill. Much better than the alternative!

    The problem with rawplugs is that if you don't get the right, they don't hold at all. So I'd use the largest that you can up in the wall, without going through. I've seen radiators hanging on - just. And I wouldn't want that for my screen.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  5. Supra

    Supra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yes I agree aslo, go for the overkill method, better to be safe than sorry.
     
  6. embees

    embees
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My wall runs in front of my stair case, i used coach screws from a packaging pallet, its solid as. Is there anything to breach into behind the plaster.
     
  7. cruncher75

    cruncher75
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    southampton
    Ratings:
    +119
    my instrutions told me to use 70mm rawplugs and 70mm size 12 screws which i got from B&Q once the mount was up i just pulled my self up on it to c if it would hold me its been up a week and is still there
     
  8. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks guys :smashin:

    cruncher 75, make sure you post a pic of your screen :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice