Wall Mounted Speaker Brackets

motr

Due to my son having a bit of an accident at home on Saturday involving the couch and one of my speaker stands, I have to seriously consider mounting my speakers on the wall, rather than stands.

Thankfully, my 3 yeard old boy is fine, a couple of bruises, the stand however totally got ruined.

I have never used wall brackets before, but could somebody tell me if these are going to do a job? http://www.lektropacks.co.uk/view_item.php?product=1000577&&category=141

I have a pair of wharfedale Diamond 9s, so only small speakers and at this moment in time, sonic heaven isn't a priority (as you can tell, because the speakers aren't exactly brilliant), so, anyone want to share some thoughts with me?

Sun

Glad your son didn`t get hurt.

I had Mission M70`s wall mounted on these http://www.vogels.com/detail.asp?ISSAID=277&ParentID=31&ChildID=82&PlineId=0 Rock solid and easy to mount too.

don't mean to hijack so apologies, Paulie-W those Vogels mounts, how do the brackets maintain their angle/direction? Is it via some kind of alan key tightener? The reason I ask is that I have some Mordaunt Short MS302 as shown here http://www.avland.co.uk/ms/ms302/ms-302.htm but the brackets also shown are incredibly difficult to tighten by hand (the only option) and as a result the angle of the speakers has dropped considerably. How do the vogels work?

Cheers
Sun

Paulie-W

From what i can remember, they tighten down via an allen key, and clamp onto the ball part with a toothed washer. You can get them very tight, but there will always be some flexing in the abs/plastic (or whatever they`re made of). It takes a couple of goes to get it just right. But when it`s done, it is solid.

motr

Interesting. Thanks. May I ask at what sort of height is a good height?

Also may I ask where you get them from and a price?

Paulie-W

Interesting. Thanks. May I ask at what sort of height is a good height?

Also may I ask where you get them from and a price?