Wall mounted my LCD (story, pics and some questions)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Napoleon88, May 6, 2007.

1. Napoleon88

Napoleon88

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +39
    Boy, I wish I'd seen this section of the forum before I started :(

I am a total beginner to the whole AV scene. I have moderate DIY skills and a few tools. I've seen a few of the threads on here and I'm sure my tale will be a source of humour amongst the high-end guys, but I thought it was worth posting regardless. There are also some questions at the end of the post.

I recently bought a 37" Hannspree XV37 (excellent value at £489 delivered with 5yr guarantee) and wall mounted it. My house is a 3yr old semi, so the internal walls are plasterboard stud partitions.

Pic of the TV working before mounting.

[​IMG]

To start, I cut out a piece of cardboard the same size as the screen and tacked it to the wall to check if it was a comfortable height for viewing. From the attached pictures (poor quality), it might be considered quite high for some people, however I am a serious sloucher and I lie on my suite, so it was ideal for me.

Mounting the TV was easy enough, it was just a case of locating the vertical studs (easy enough due to the ****** nail popping in the walls :mad:). I then attached the LCD mount to the wall using four heavy bolt headed self tappers (maybe 4" long?). These were screwed in using a drill with a socket attached. To check the integrity of the mount, I hung my full weight from the mount and not a jot of movement.

One of the reasons I wish I'd seen this section of the forum is because I couldn't find a solution to bringing the cables back out of the wall tidily. I visited an electrical wholesaler to ask advice, but they were pretty useless. Since finding this section, I've noticed a few pics of brilliant installs that have some of the type of component I was looking for that I was "advised" didn't exist :mad: