1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wall mount installation questions!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Gof, Sep 5, 2004.

1. Gof

Gof

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hey guys - a quick few q's before I attempt to nail £2k to my lounge wall
    (man I'm scared)!

Got a panny w6 and am going for the flush panny wall mount from ebay
    (taking my RS universal back unopened).

The 42" plasma is to be installed on the wall between my house and the next
    door neighbour (the wall that joins the two houses in a semi detached
    house).
    I am a novice but from the diy I have done over the last few weeks in the
    house it is a brick/concrete wall as opposed to the plasterboard/cavity
    walls separating bedrooms etc.

When I drill holes do I drill straight into wall or angle downwards for
    extra strength?
    What is the best fitting to buy from homebase or b&q or somewhere to ensure
    the darn thing is tight on the wall and wont move?

Is there anything else I need (besides a drill) to get the job done or
    anything else I should know about?

Hoping to install it one evening over the next few days - been sitting in my
    hall since Thursday and it want to be used!

Is it easy enough to have someone conceal cables etc and replaster after the
    wall installation by taking it off the wall? Or if you are a professional
    installer in the notts/derby area and can do me a good price on hanging the
    beast email me :)

All help fully appreciated.

:eek:

2. Dark Angel

Dark Angel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    If its brick use rawlbolts if its concrete use sleeve anchors, any DIY store will have them. Make sure you get them to match the bracket i.e. if it has 8mm holes in it get M8 fixings.