1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wall inset for 435XDE. How much breathing space?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by yellowpostit, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. yellowpostit

    yellowpostit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm drawing up a plan for our builder to build a false chimney breast (i.e, no fire, just for show) with an "inset" for the 435XDE.

    We want the screen to be flush with the chimney breast, hence the inset. All cables are being buried.

    I know I need some breathing space around the panel, but how much? The operating instructions don't really say anything specific (thanks Alan A, it was still handy though).

    I was thinking a 2-inch border all the way round.

    Anyone any ideas?
     
  2. Setch

    Setch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have mine hung on the wall and totally boxed in. I have about 1/4" gap all round the plasma. Behind the panel is a gap of about 90mm which narrows to about 20mm at the top where the DVDs are. I have not had any problems with it overheating, I would say that it the panel is the same temp as when it was mounted on a stand.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=78824&page=122&pp=15

    I think that provided you have a ventilation slot somewhere at the top of false wall, then you should be ok with a minimum gap around the panel.

    Setch
     
  3. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    I wouldn't recommend that.

    My 7200 manual says 4" (100mm) all the way round.

    Electronics don't like heat.

    I say vents top and bottom, preferably with a reasonably powerful fan is best.

    It would act like a chimney then :thumbsup:

    That's what happens if you don't enclose a telly.

    Slots on the top is good, but you need to draw cool air in too.

    That way, you could have it fitted fully enclosed.

    I think this needs researching though, because it's a popular question.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,463
    Hello all

    If there is no free air (forced or convection) at the rear of the Display you require an 'ingo' that's approx 50mm (Left, Bottom and Right) and 200mm (Top) larger than the Area of your Display.

    The 'tight to the bezel' look is very nice (assuming you do have Free air flow at the rear of the unit) but you do have to work out how to get the display on and off its wall mount :)

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I've got several installs like this, vented top and bottom with free flow behind the false wall. That's easy if you are just starting to build it, and you could also consider in wall speakers with enclosures to the spec on makers web site. The way to get it on and off the mount is with a swing out bracket. It makes connecting the cables possible too, otherwise that's a nightmare. The only other way I can think of to do this is with removable panels, I've done this in 1 commercial and 1 ultra modern residential install, nice if you like that kind of thing. It wouldn't work in my 1930's house if you see what I mean.
     
  6. yellowpostit

    yellowpostit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, the mounting issue was a concern at the back of my mind.

    If I had a 4" gap all the way round, and then a 'chimney' type opening above the top, would that do?

    And if that was okay, 4" would still be a problem when getting it onto a flat wall mount?
     

Share This Page

Loading...