1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wales vs England broadcast quality

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by RayB, Sep 3, 2005.

  1. RayB

    RayB
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was it just me or was the transmission quality awful for this match - to me the worst i have seen on Sky+ :confused:
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    It was fine for me but I was watching on a bog standard 28" CRT which hides a whole heap of encoding and transmission faults:)
     
  3. RayB

    RayB
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats the answer, get a smaller telly and all will be well :D
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    That's basically it:)

    SKY and other digital broadcasters have not kept pace with an ever increasing demand for higher quality source material. What was fine on the 50hz CRT's of the mid to late 1990's is falling short with 100hz/digitally enhanced CRT's and flat panels of the 21st century.

    There is no technical reason standard definition mpeg2 can not meet the new levels required but there is certainly an economic one.
     
  5. MC Hammer

    MC Hammer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +18

    No - not just you - it was poor by Sky's standards for football coverage.
    It was more like ITV standard.
     
  6. TrevP

    TrevP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm notorious for being a fussy b****rd whn it comes to pic quality, and it seemed 'acceptable' to me considering i was watching in a pub on a 42' 'cheaper' quality plasma. No quibbles at all. Lets consider, would they use diffent quality gear than usual ?? I doubt it as broadcast camera/technology would be 'de facto' gear these days. They are hardly likely to use non standard stuff are they ???
     
  7. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    I do have pq issues with Sky at times, but I have to say the match looked spot on to me on my Hitachi 42PD5200.
     
  8. RayB

    RayB
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank goodness I'm not going mad, mostly I have no problem with Sky channels but this was pants today :rolleyes:
     
  9. ZippyCat

    ZippyCat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +22
    The picture quality for the Wales vs. England was awful. Quality was so bad that my scaler couldn’t even cope. In the end I switched off my projector and reverted to my 24inch TV. Sky, get your act together!
     
  10. Baldgit33

    Baldgit33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The match was broadcast FTA on ZDF(Germany) and the PQ was excellent !
     
  11. Roj

    Roj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Romney Marsh
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) I agree with Baldgit - WS and good quality on 19 east
     
  12. RMCF

    RMCF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    6,983
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +626
    Picture quality on Sky can be really bad on some channels.

    I was flicking around last night and on TOTP it can be really bad when there is a lot of bright flashign lights and panning cameras. Picture gets very blocky and digitized.

    I am watching on a 50Hz 32" Philips so the problem is not coming from my TV but from the transmission itself.

    Great picture quality on digital TV - is this a myth?
     
  13. dunsters

    dunsters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    My 56" DLP showed up every flaw in the broadcast and was so bad that we had headaches after the match (as we did for the Cricket test match) - it was a poor match anyway but the terrible picrture and 'waxing' effect we got every time the camera move was the worst I have ever seen.:mad:

    All my sky channels have this problem (waxing or double images on moving/panned pictures) to a greater or lesser degree. Sky are not interested in it unless they send an engineer for £65 :eek: and then I am not sure what he might find/improve.:(

    Any thoughts?:confused:

    Cheers:hiya:
     
  14. ZippyCat

    ZippyCat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +22
    They wouldn’t find anything, the problem is entirely at their end. In fact the installation monkey (they are not engineers!) wouldn’t recognise the problem, as far as they are concerned if you can see a picture its fine. Been down that route before.
     
  15. dunsters

    dunsters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks Zippycat:hiya:


    I was getting a bit frustrated buying more and more kit/cables/HTPC even to try and get round the poor sky picture quality but as Scart is the bast I can use (with IXOS flat cables) even the scaler on the HTPC is no good as it will only take s-video input which is about 1/2 the PQ of the std Scart:thumbsdow

    Cheers:hiya:
     
  16. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    Out of curiosity how are your Sky boxes connected to tv? Mine is via RGB scart.
     
  17. gaja

    gaja
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've really noticed poor picture quality when watching footy from Sky+ on my Benq 5120. It's like it goes into slow motion and blurs. Is this what everyone else is referring to? It was terrible on Saturday.

    I'm connected with svideo btw.

    Does this happen on normal sky boxes as well or only +?
     
  18. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    Dunsters, are you aware that you can feed your pc a component cable via a sweetspot video proccessor? You then have the highest pssible signal quality to watch via dscaler if you wish.
     
  19. dunsters

    dunsters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
  20. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    That sweetspot card at pluggedin is the one I was refering to and is the only one of it's kind currently available as far as I know.

    I have one myself and can confirm it is a good bit of kit.:smashin:
     
  21. wookie6262

    wookie6262
    Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bonnyrigg
    Ratings:
    +6
    I watched both the England match and the Scotland one and there were clear quality issues with the broadcast quality of the England game. I was watching on a Hitaci 42PD700. Most of the matches on Sky have looked pretty good to me but this one was similar quality to Channel 4's(on Sky) Ashes coverage. The Scotland game was the usual quality ie quite good. I was in Scotland. I thought it may have been due to the amount of people watching which meant your share of the bandwidth dropped. Similar to some Broadband products contention ratios.
     
  22. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,852
    I thought the England game was poor quality even on my 32" CRT, I think the main problem for me was them trying to get the brightness/contrast levels right between the very bright far side of the pitch and the dark near side.
     
  23. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Yeah that for me is one the biggest issues of playing at the Millenium Stadium from a television point of view.
     
  24. ninidag

    ninidag
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gaja i've also got the Benq 5120 connected to sky+ and experience the same 'slow motion effect' when watching football games. I have mine connected using component (via jstech rgb converter). Does anyone know a way of getting round this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...