1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wake up and watch the movie!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by knodell, Jul 21, 2004.

1. knodell

knodell

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I’m new to the home cinema game but realised some months back that I was missing too many good movies as I couldn’t be bothered to go to the cinema and can’t stand watching them on a small TV screen.

So I did a bit of research in magazines and went out and purchased the Hitachi TX10 complete with a BEAMAX 80x45 screen – both from Nexnix.

I’ve got a spare 15x10ft bedroom so the screen simply hangs from two ceiling hooks at one end and the TX10 sits on top of a wardrobe at the other along with a DVD player and VCR which provides TV programme tuning. Sound output is to an old midi system with speakers mounted each side of the screen.

If I’d purchased everything new I would have spent less than £1500 and results are fantastic.

The Hitachi is so easy to set up with its wide zoom and vertical and horizontal lens shift that I can’t see why anyone buys anything else!

Yes of course it could be brighter but heavy curtains provide all the darkness needed - and maybe the blacks could be blacker - and if you look closely you can see the screen pixels – but you are supposed to be watching the movie for god’s sake!!! – If it’s worth watching you don’t notice these very minor defects.

I just can’t understand how all the nerds out there come to pay thousands of pounds for something I got for so little – the truth is that there is a whole industry and its magazines out there desperately trying to convince you it all matters. The fact is that technology is moving on and getting very cheap so save your money and get on with watching the movies.