1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

W6 Settings

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by SteveRSF, Jan 8, 2004.

  1. SteveRSF

    SteveRSF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    K guys, think i will be taking the plunge to get my panny in a few days,when i do get it what ideals settings should i set?
    contast,brightness etc.

    i have sky+ aswell!........:confused:
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    They do vary a bit, but out of the box the contrast is set to furnace levels, so get that down to about -10 or so for 1st 100 hours, then set it up properly. A search will give you a sample of settings, where to start from.
     
  3. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  4. SteveRSF

    SteveRSF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks very much lads, a great help!
     
  5. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    p.s. use the model number of PWD6UY when you search, as it is a US forum...

    JJ
     
  6. SteveRSF

    SteveRSF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    great link thanks...............only thing is i'm still not happy with some of the posts on lip sink probs with sky/sky+..........we watch sky+ most of the time,with the usual weekend of dvd viewing.....how bad will this be?
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Lipsync varies, as far as I can tell, completely randomly, I think it's almost entirely a matter of perception, ie now you can really see it. Sometimes changing channels and back puts it right again, some programs are just broadcast out of sync. You need centre speaker delay on your remote to cope with that! But it's not usually so bad, it'll just crop up from time to time. Complain to sky, it's almost certainly their fault, unless you use a scaler.
     
  8. SteveRSF

    SteveRSF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    is that the iscan scaler.............how much are they and how are they connected?
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    To a panny, via VGA, they are £510 ish, I've got one in my hand, just about to connect it to a VHA30.
     
  10. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    MAW, would VGA be the best method? I have a PW5 with component board, what would the results vis-a-vis VGA/component be like via iScan Ultra?
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Just a smidgen in favour of VGA. It can be made to output component, on it's 15pin sub-d just like the new panny can accept it. Haven't got a pw6 here, interesting experiment to try vga, then switch to component on both devices, see if it's any different. Same cable, different signal, a true signal test! Well, ish...

    Edit. You'd need a lead, component to 15pin, to connect to your video board. A few around now, no problem.
     
  12. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Martin,

    Maybe something we can try/test next weekend?

    JJ
     
  13. SteveRSF

    SteveRSF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Maw let us know what diference the scaler makes once fitted please!
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Clearer, sharper, no dot crawl, difficult to quantify such things, down to the individual to decide if it's worth it. Got this one in for a demo, ended up putting it into an install we did before Xmas. Even the lady of the house agrees it's better, but she wasn't complaining before! Her husband is just like Jason. Nice chap, but, with no bottom jokes, fussy about his picture.
     
  15. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Martin => I think I'll take that as a complement!!! :D :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...