VSX LX55 - HDCP error unless both TV and Projector powered on??

pioneerhifi

Standard Member
Both my TV and projector are connected the Pioneer by HDMI, but the only way I can watch a movie on my projector is to disconnect the HDMI cable from the TV. If both are connected but one isn't turned on I get a HDCP error, it's fine if both are turned on but that's a ridiculous scenario. Any help much appreciated, I'm new to home Cinema so still learning.

Lee.Pie

I get the same with mine unless I use the hdmi out button to switch to the appropriate hdmi out for the device I'm using. ie hdmi 1 for TV and hdmi 2 for projector so don't use the hdmi all function. I have set my Harmony remote to do this automaticity so I don't have to worry about it.

Mark.Yudkin

Distinguished Member
Both my TV and projector are connected the Pioneer by HDMI, but the only way I can watch a movie on my projector is to disconnect the HDMI cable from the TV. If both are connected but one isn't turned on I get a HDCP error, it's fine if both are turned on but that's a ridiculous scenario. Any help much appreciated, I'm new to home Cinema so still learning.
I assume you're using some form of standby, rather then actually having the TV and projector off. What happens if the TV or projector is disconnected fro the power supply?

Your unidentified TV and projector may have a "power savings" standby mode which disables the HDMI processsing, thus preventing them from responding to the HDCP handshake. Check the manuals for the TV and projector to see if this is the case.

The power savings option may be implied by the general "HDMI Control" option; in such a case, you just need to turn it on. The specific name of that option is manufacturer-dependent (e.g. your Pioneer calls it Kuro Link), so you'll need to find the actual name from the manuals' descriptions.

pioneerhifi

Standard Member