VP50 picture prob with HD-DVD

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by roman-r, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. roman-r

    roman-r
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London - Stoke Newington N16
    Ratings:
    +195
    Watching Full Metal Jacket last night and chose scene selection to kick off 2nd half of movie - Chapter 20. After about 10 secs VP50 couldn't recognise incoming 1080i signal - checked information menu -and went to blue screen :thumbsdow

    Took a few reboots before picture went back but did exactly the same thing at the same spot of the movie :mad:

    Couldn't be fluffing about so plugged HD-EP30 direct into PW7 panel and scene selected Chapter 20 - no problem.

    Note HD-DVD kept running each time but VP50 didn't recognise the 1080i signal.

    Now I had this picture issue when first used VP50 with a new source but seemed to have stopped once I got source working once i.e. a few reboots of VP50. Also needed to turn on VP50 first and let it run for a few secs.


    Anyone else experience this with VP50 and found a work around :lease:
     
  2. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +182
    if you have an ep-30, why are you not feeding the vp50 with 1080P24?
     
  3. roman-r

    roman-r
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London - Stoke Newington N16
    Ratings:
    +195
    Because I'm using component as my panel is a SD Panny Plasma that is connected by analogue RGBHV to HD15 therefore not hdcp - hDMI/DVI blades are not very flexible.

    Appreciate I loose out on "all digital" connection but I do benefit from 1:1 pixel mapping.
     
  4. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    You decided not to bother with the HDCP stripping action in the end then?

    fwiw, I haven't had any dropouts at all from my EP30 over HDMI but haven't tried component.
     
  5. roman-r

    roman-r
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London - Stoke Newington N16
    Ratings:
    +195
    May go that way at some point and wish I had thought of it a few weeks ago :rolleyes:

    I am seeing more and more stability but I do reckon the analogue is less stable. :rolleyes:

    Thanks for the comments :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...