1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Volume Issues when playing DVD on surround system

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by stevecc, May 16, 2005.

1. stevecc

stevecc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder if anyone can help me....
    I have recently purchased a Sony STD-DE697 Amp, with ST-SDB900 Tuner and a basic CD player, with SAVE835ED speaker set......

All is connected fine, to a Sony KLV-L32M1S LCD TV, and CD playing is top sound qaulity.
    However, when i play a DVD, I have to put volume to 65 (max is 75) to get a good listening volume.....where as when I play a CD, i cant go much above 35 as it is too loud!!

Does anyone have any ideas?
    I have done the trouble shooting in the Amp guide.....but still no joy?
    Maybe this is an experience thing, as I am new to seperates....
    Any help would be much appreciated!

2. Harry T2

Harry T2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
  3. stevecc

stevecc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that harry.....
    It just seems strange.....
    On my previous set up, I used a simple pro-logic midi system, and the sound - regardless of whether I was using a CD, or playing a DVD through the Stereo - or listening to SKY, was always pretty constant.

I just cant beleive that I have to more or less max out my amp to get a good volume when playing a DVD!!?!?

However, as stated in my previous message, I am new to seperates, so just wondered if I was doing anything wrong?

4. stevecc

stevecc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0