1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

volume distortion level ?

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by deaf cat, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. deaf cat

    deaf cat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hi,
    The AVR200 goes up to volume level 80 I believe, I have had it up to 65 and sounds fine and loud!

    Just wondering if it starts clipping further up or is 80 the max with a clean (rms) no distortion signal ?

    Don't really want to send any clipping to my speakers at that sort of volume level, thinking it will damage then quite easily....?
    (Speakers - Ditton AV3 4ohm 200W max 150W continuous)

    Any comments much appreciated
    Cheers
     
  2. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    If you plan on running it loud then I would get some better power amplification, the P7 or new P1000 would be viable options.
     
  3. deaf cat

    deaf cat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +58
    So if I had a Rega Maia3 with the fronts bi-wired from it, is the pre-amp of AVR200 going to stay clean right up to 80, or will the quality fade before the rega starts to clip ?

    Or is it safe to gradually turn it up untill I dectect something is not right :eek: ?

    ( :hiya: whats the spec of the P1000?)
     
  4. rOAdeh

    rOAdeh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Winchester
    Ratings:
    +5
    As far as i understand you can continue to turn up the volume until you begin hearing distortion either through the speaker drivers going past their designed excursion limits or by the amp clipping
     
  5. davehk

    davehk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    The actual setting of the volume control when using an analogue source has no relationship to the maximum power output/clip point, since it depends on the level of the input - you can cause the amp to clip with the volume set at 50 if you drive it with a high enough signal.

    With a digital source, I believe Arcam design for rated output at a volume setting of 80dB with a 0dBFS signal (digital max - impossible to record a higher level than this).

    The amp can probably go a bit higher before it distorts significantly, or clips. Depends on the PSU voltage and current ratings.
     
  6. deaf cat

    deaf cat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +58
    So with a digital source/input, its probably safe to keep on turning up all the way to 80 and we should be safe?
     
  7. davehk

    davehk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    I think we have to leave it to Arcam to comment on that!
     
  8. deaf cat

    deaf cat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +58
    sounds like a plan to me...
    Is there any way to attract Arcams' attention.....?
     
  9. rOAdeh

    rOAdeh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Winchester
    Ratings:
    +5
    they browse the forum when they can though obviously they are fairly busy people so if you want a direct answer either email them (which from past experience often takes around a week to get a reply) or preferably phone them - where i understand their support is top notch.
     
  10. deaf cat

    deaf cat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +58
    cheers I'll give em a bell
     
  11. davehk

    davehk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    On the two occasions I've e-mailed their tech support (most recently last week) I've had a response within an hour or so, so maybe they've improved that area to match the phone support.
     

Share This Page

Loading...