1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vodaphone Nokia 6230

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by AMc, Sep 11, 2004.

Tags:
  1. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    6,828
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +3,406
    Hi guys,

    I've just received a 6230 as an upgrade.
    1 - I'd like to get a bigger MMCard for it - are there any recommendations on cards to choose/avoid.
    I probably only need 256MB but I see ebuyer.com have a 1GB Viking card for less than £100!

    2 - It's currently locked to Vodaphone, but I also have an 02 sim I'd like to use sometimes. Is there a reputable DIY/commercial way to do this?
    (Mods - I've read the sticky and I think I'm allowed to ask that but if it's against the rules mods please delete this part of my post, thanks!).

    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    6,828
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +3,406
    Bought a PQI 256MB Multi Media (MMC) card from ebuyer (£25) and a card reader/writer from 7dayshop (£8).
    Can anyone help with reputable unlocking services - really don't want to get ripped off or have to deal with the blokes down the market...
     
  3. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +585
    try www.fonedoctor.co.uk

    I have unlocked some phones in the past, the lastest one being a 6100. But i believe these 6230 phones are a little more tricky and require a cable to unlock them.

    Try this website out i have bought from Sam before he is really helpfull and a nice bloke.

    Dal

    p.s. these phones rock, i need to get a bigger MMC card too as 32meg doesnt quite cut it.
     
  4. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    6,828
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +3,406
    :) the 32MB card is OK while you're loading MP3 with infrared. I was very impressed it worked at all!
    Card got shipped today...
     
  5. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi AMc,

    I unlocked my 6230 from here, for free. :thumbsup:
     
  6. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    6,828
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +3,406
    That looks great - but also a little scary!
    Is the calculated number entered into the phone when you start it up with a blocked network provider's SIM in it? Or do you need the datacable (how I unlocked my old 8210)?
     
  7. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
    I'm on Vodafone,
    I just entered the first code, in the list of seven that were calculated, into the screen where I'd put in a telephone number - Vodafone SIM card still in.
    It just unlocked..... :smoke:

    :lesson: Remember you get 5 goes - personally I'd have stopped at 4 - but it worked on the first 1 for me...

    :lesson: Also remember that the * key will give you the '+' 'p' & 'w' characters.......

    Good luck! :thumbsup:
     
  8. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    6,828
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +3,406
    Couldn't contain myself - decided to try it as I suggested.
    Shut down the phone, swapped SIMs started up and when it showed the screen showing it was locked I chose Undo and tried the code.
    The first 2 goes weren't successful because I'd not selected the right phone model (doh!) third time lucky.
    Thanks for the link - you saved me a lot of hassle!
     
  9. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
    Happy it worked for you too! :clap:
     
  10. geordie_nicola

    geordie_nicola
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive just got this phone on o2... I love it.

    Just wondering though, how exactly do you get music onto the phone?
     
  11. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    6,828
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +3,406
    Very slow way - infra red with Nokia Data Suite (www.nokia.com) - I did this to start with 32Mb in around an hour!
    Slightly less slow way - MMC card and a card reader drag and drop from Windows, but you have to remove the cover and battery to swap the card. Fiddly but I don't us the music player much so it suits me.
    Easiest way - buy a USB data cable and use Data Suite to copy tunes across
     
  12. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +585

    I agree got a USB cable on ebay for 6 quid and works a treat

    Really impressed with this phone!

    Dal
     
  13. SN4ZZY

    SN4ZZY
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to own the 6230 I now own the 6260, my previous card was 128Mb but my new card for the 6260 is 512Mb which I paid £30 for. I also use the bluetooth capabilities for transferring data.
     
  14. wizzzkid007

    wizzzkid007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi people,
    i currently have 1 gig mmc!!! for y nokia 6230, which are very hard 2 find! ecpecially the ones that work with the 6230's.
    however i want to sell myne for £95.. if anyones interesteD? email me on farukhgondal@hotmail.com or call 07811099743 and we can arrange something.
    the card is almost brand new, guaranteed to work! :thumbsup:
     
  15. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +585
    you can get 1 gig cards now for £76 quid

    Thanks

    Dal
     

Share This Page

Loading...