vista rant

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by kalel795, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. kalel795

    kalel795
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +38
    now dont get me wrong with the title,
    i really like vista but i have had nothing but problems with plug and play stuff

    and today i want to kick my pc through the wall and stamp on anything that remains

    i bought a new printer that says on the box vista certified, but i wont work........

    so for everyones future ref dont buy a cannon printer there all liars:suicide: :thumbsdow
     
  2. route666

    route666
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    i bought a USB TV stick for my vista laptop, which was supposed to be Vista proof.... but it just wouldnt register os i had to send it back!

    its always like that with a new operating system i guess, its just annoying
     
  3. norealplan

    norealplan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5,142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Backpacking around the world
    Ratings:
    +733
    I love my Mac! :rotfl:
     
  4. sbowler

    sbowler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +481
    Its not worth upgrading to vista just yet as there are to many compatibility issues. Its not always wise to be an early adopter, look at HD formats for DVD. Vista may have more secure security settings but with a bit of forethought and searching out the correct software for XP this can be as secure as Vista.
     
  5. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Did you download the latest drivers for the printer?

    :rolleyes: Then go to your Mac forum.
     
  6. GarryF

    GarryF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +339
    hear hear

    I have an hp printer running off an xp machine, I was wanting to use it over the network on the vista one and things weren't that straight forward, had to download and install driver then add using port options then manually select the driver. Took maybe 30-60 mins to figure out using google etc.

    While not directly applicable to your problem I would first do what singh says and get the latest drivers, if that doesn't work a simple google of the printer model and the word vista will probably lead you to other people with the same problem and solutions to fix it.

    Again, everyone comes on complaining about driver issues being a vista problem when in reality they are the manufacturers problem, if the printer is new and vista certified get onto canon big time.

    You maybe haven't noticed but most older hardware (say 6 months plus) does work, Vista has a HUGE library of drivers for older gear, Microsoft can't just invent drivers out of thin air for brand new tech though, that's the manufacturers responsibilty.
     
  7. GarryF

    GarryF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +339
    Oh yeah, if you post your actually printer model then people then might actually be able to help
     
  8. Accylad

    Accylad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    7,116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Accrington
    Ratings:
    +320
    My Canon USB printer works without problem in Vista - got new drivers from the Canon website :smashin:

    Its a Pixma MP750
     
  9. kalel795

    kalel795
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +38
    yeah i tried everything and i spent over an hour on the phone to cannon for them to just say " there may still be some issues"

    the printer is the pixma mp160
     
  10. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    I think your printer is newer than mine however, I have my old i865 working on Vista no problem. Try Canon's website for Vista drivers.
    Looking on Canon's website, they have Vista x32 and x64 drivers for your printer.
     

Share This Page

Loading...