Vista,My Movies and Backed Up DVD's

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Tom3316, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. Tom3316

    Tom3316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    556
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +52
    hello ive done some searching but cant realy find answer to my questions.

    first question is how do i play my backed up dvd's using my movies in MCE.

    also could anyone please tell me how to force 50Hz on vista MCE.

    and is there any way to change the info that my movies gets to english R2 information because at the moment its getting american R1 info

    Thanks:thumbsup:
     
  2. Brian the Sn@il

    Brian the [email protected]
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same probloem here, i have MCE on a sony in the living room and Media Centre plays a DVD from a Folder on the server, its great as i have backed up many of my best DVDs to watch Instantly :) :clap: on the MCe in the living room which is plugged into Hi Def Sony TV etc etc... sorted :)





    Now just installed Vista Ultimate on my study PC and the Media Centre wont play the backed up DVDs which are located in seperate folders on the server.

    I cant find a fix anywhere :( :mad:

    any one else has this problem, i went For ULTIMATE as it has everything :( but it dosent do EVERYTHING :lol:
     
  3. Tom3316

    Tom3316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    556
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +52
    i still have not found a fix.
    there is lots of things i need to do like 50Hz and overscan problems which i just cant find a fix to any were so ive got back to a traditional DVD player which for me is better.

    if i had the knowledge then im sure a media centre pc is the best option im just to thick to make it work lol
     
  4. Brian the Sn@il

    Brian the [email protected]
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    mm im back to my MCE pc at the moment while posting this.

    To be honest MCE is rather good as it caters for all :)

    Ill keep looking into this as it needs to be addressed.
     
  5. PAH

    PAH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +63
    There's a registry setting that determines whether the DVD function only plays the current DVD or provides a gallery of backed up DVDs.

    Have a look here for details:

    http://mediacenter.mattgoyer.com/archives/2005/10/21/1007

    I've done the ShowGallery tweek and can now play .Vob files from the hard drive. :thumbsup:

    The 50hz option is provided by the graphics card drivers via the display settings in Vista. I've got a nvidia 7300gs and no longer have the 50hz option with the latest forceware drivers. Wish I'd kept the older drivers I had installed (or at least wrote down which version they were) as they did give me access to the 50hz option bizarrely. Nvidia are still building a complete working set for Vista by the looks of it. Gone back to version 100 and still no joy :-(
     

Share This Page

Loading...