VIsta and XP in same PC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by mirzaair, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. mirzaair

    mirzaair
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    I have a Quad core desktop with VIsta. For obvious reasons, i would also like to use XP. SO I would like to know:

    1. Having two OS in one PC, is it going to make my pc slow?

    2. Is there any known problem of having two OS in one pc?

    IF NOT then:
    3. How can I have install XP home in my Vista PC
    4. I would I quickly switch between two OSs during startup.

    Thanks in advance folks.

    R
     
  2. Mr Lazy

    Mr Lazy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +144
    No, each OS will behave as if it was a computer in it's on right.

    Not really. So long as you don't mess too much with the partitions, boot loader etc.

    No-ones going to tell you here how to do it - it would take too long, but google is your friend. Try this: Dual Boot Vista and XP with Vista already installed - SysChat

    Windows will prompt you at boot up (after the BIOS bit) which OS you want to boot - this is setup as part of the install process.

    If you really want to know what's going on have a read of this:
    http://www.multibooters.co.uk/multiboot.html
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  3. booyaka

    booyaka
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    11,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +3,584
    simple and straigtforward if you follow the links above.

    i have my laptop dual booting to Vista and Windows 7 beta.:thumbsup:
     
  4. Mr Lazy

    Mr Lazy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +144
    Yep, currently triple-booting Vista 64, Windows 7 Beta and Linux :smashin:

    Could do with moving the partitions about though to gain an extra logical partition and use some unallocated space.
     
  5. mirzaair

    mirzaair
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone I will install XP and Windows 7 in my PC. I have good space in my HDD (1.5 TB) and 4GB RAM hopefully won't be a problem then.
     

Share This Page

Loading...