1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virtua Fighter cab to MAME cab help

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Tza, Aug 20, 2004.

1. Tza

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    ok guyz here we go...

im a real noob on these kind of things and all the help and different oppinions I can get the better.

I have bought a Vitua Fighter cabinet on ebay for £150 which I think looks excelent, it has a big screen, it has a big control panel and is exactly what I wanted to get and convert it into mame. I work as a graphic designer and have many ideas for the marque, side art and control panel, but I realy suck on wiring and programing.

I dont realy know where to start from, so I will tell you what I have to do exactly...

1. buy an i-pac
    2. add 3 more buttons each player
    3. add credit button
    4. buy a PC with a VGA card

ok now let me state all the questions I have, I would like to know and chat to someone who has converted a Virtua Fighter Cab or similar cab...

here are two images of inside of the cab

1. How will I know which wires to connect to the I-PAC? how are the connected to the IPAC? using a soldering iron?

2. When I have the buttons installed does each wire from each button connect to the i-pac?

3. How good does the computer have to be? and does it need to have an arcade VGA card installed?

4. Ive seen many cabs that have extra controls for choosing the games and roller-balls are they needed?

5. Which is the best program (emulator) to use for MAME on the cab?

6. What exactly connects onto the i-pac? which wires?

7. Once the Pc is installed will I need to power supplies? one for the cabinet and one for the PC?

8. How do you program a PC to as soon as it is switched on to run the mame program? can u have loading pictures?

9. Does the I-pac keep the high scores?