Virgin media upgrade

marc123

Hi all,

Hopefully someone can help.

I am about to move into a new property and the only decent fibre speeds we can get is Virgin media. I understand the Virgin router is not very good at WiFi so am looking for advice on what router/modem upgrade would anyone recommend, also would I be better at looking at a mesh system for the house as I want to run my ring cameras/ door bell and alarm effortlessly as well as the other smart home things we have.
I am quite new to smart home set up so will need something simple to work/run if possible.

Thanks in advance
Marc

psychopomp1

Something like an Asus RT-AC86U (wifi 5) or RT-AX88U (wifi 6) should be a nice upgrade over the Virgin kit wrt wifi. Only consider a mesh system or additional APs if a single router doesn't cut it.

marc123

Something like an Asus RT-AC86U (wifi 5) or RT-AX88U (wifi 6) should be a nice upgrade over the Virgin kit wrt wifi. Only consider a mesh system or additional APs if a single router doesn't cut it.
How easy would it be to set up as I am a complete novice

mickevh

Distinguished Member
I would not pre-judge. Get moved in, try whatever the ISP provides for a few weeks, then fix any problems if you have them. I'm willing to bet there are literally millions of customers using VM's kit stock, and it's just fine in their use case.

Wi-Fi is so poorly understood by amateurs that a lot of Internet Myth's abound. I suggest it's better to take an evidence based approach and talk to people in forums like this that actually understand it.

Last edited:

oneman

Wireless alarms don't / shouldn't be using WiFi, they mostly operate on 868 MHz. Many 'smart' devices while working on 2.4GHz also don't use WiFi and using protocols like zigbee form their own mesh network.