Virgin Media Speed Query

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by fireandskill1, May 7, 2007.

  1. fireandskill1

    fireandskill1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am currently on a 10mb connection with VM formerly NTL (for 5yrs), I have been keeping a check on my speed over the last 3 weeks at various times during the day/night and I am only ever getting between 3750kbps & 3980kbps down & 450kbps up is this correct for a 10mb connection?

    I have spoken to VM on 2 occasions now, The first call resulted in them telling me that I should be seeing 15,000kbps via there Robin Walker speed test (most I could get was 3672kbps) and I should also remove itunes?

    The second call resulted in VM telling me my account was set up with the wrong URB (whatever that means) and to disconnect modem etc and all will be back to normal.
    After doing exactly as they have asked I am still getting the speeds as mentioned above.
    I find the 4mb speed I have more than adequate it's just the fact I am paying for 10mb and only ever getting 4mb, A 60% loss of service.

    I would be more than happy to drop down to the 4mb service and save £10 a month but I am unsure whether the 4mb service would give 60% less also.

    Could anyone shed any light on the above matter or possibly correct me on any of the above

    Cheers
     
  2. nofear01

    nofear01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +86
    Did they make you check any speed test sites?

    I am having the same issue and to be honest I really am getting F*cked off with VM.

    I am just getting more and more hassle
     
  3. fireandskill1

    fireandskill1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes they told me to check speed via Robin Walker cable modem speed test found via google and stated I should be seeing 15,000kbps but every time I run the test the most I see is 3672kbps:(
     
  4. Celtic Blood

    Celtic Blood
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here try this, it's the best and most accurate free broadband speed test site on the net.. I've tried a lot of other similar sites before I found this.. and they used to give incorrect readings of my connection speed.




    http://www.bandwidthplace.com/speedtest/
     
  5. karl.g

    karl.g
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    I used this on Saturday whilst on the phone to VM in India I think. We found out I had been on half speed all this time. She made some changes whilst on line to the area I receive my service from and my connection was suddenly doubled. The only problem now is I have been on half of 2m for so long.
     
  6. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    I had exactly the same problem a few months ago.
    I changed down and did get the full connection, so I reckon you'll be ok :smashin:
     
  7. fireandskill1

    fireandskill1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have just borrowed a mates laptop and we connected my modem via Ethernet cable (I have been using USB) and he was getting 9.8mb through my connection, So I have now connected back up via Ethernet and my connection is sitting nicely at 9.8mb.
    If anyone could enlighten me as to why my USB connection only carries 3.8mb and my Ethernet connection carries 9.8mb I would be grateful.
     
  8. karl.g

    karl.g
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    No idea why, but on two seperate installations the engineer recommended ethernet instead of usb.
     
  9. Ernie_C

    Ernie_C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    The answer is simple. USB is a slower connection mechanism than Ethernet. You'll now get the correct speed, even when you are upgraded.

    I'm a bit surprised you weren't asked how you were connected, USB or Ethernet.
     
  10. F Nikk

    F Nikk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
  11. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,133
    I to am finding my download speeds erratic!

    From a 10Mbps service you should be seeing 1200Kilobyte / second.

    Try downloading some game files (nice and big) from Microsoft.com. Set 2 or 3 downloading simultaneously and if the speeds add up to at least 1000 kilobyte / second, be happy :smashin:
     
  12. Analogue

    Analogue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    These test programmes are not to be believed! I tried the above link and http:///www.bandwidthplace.com/speedtest/

    and got two different download speeds with one exactly twice the other!!
     
  13. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Dan Elwell's is the only reliable one, IMO.
    Run that about 5 times consecutively and it will give you a decent appraisal on the true state of play.
    The test earlier in the thread that does a 1Mb D/L from the states is laughable, sorry :rolleyes:

    Dan's or multiple D/Ls from Tucows are the only way.
    Microsoft is incredibly fast, but not 100% reliable and open to the vagories of the net and them being in the US.

    Just for info, anyone running any speed test should have nothing else running.
    Your games m/c can use loads of bandwidth, if it's connected.

    Pretty obvious, I know, but you wouldn't believe how many people forget :smashin:
     
  14. karl.g

    karl.g
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
  15. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Yep, I'll have that one :smashin:
    It's very consistent with the two I mentioned :smashin:

    7meg down for me :mad:
     
  16. Analogue

    Analogue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So this says approx halfway between the other two so what do I believe???
     
  17. geekydaz

    geekydaz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +20
    I've always used http://ntlspeed.webhop.net, with a direct connnection from the modem to the pc and while in safe mode with networking, to check the transfer rate that I'm getting.

    Then I would check it against the expected speeds as found here http://www.virginmedia.com/help/support/solution.php .

    If you are not getting the correct download speeds, then a call to Tech Support is needed and they should be able to confirm that your Cable Modem has receive the correct config file and get you to run a few traceroute commands (see www.chetnet.co.uk/articles/index.php?page=index_v2&id=29&c=5 for more detailed info) to try and determine where the fault is.
     

Share This Page

Loading...