Virgin Media 20mb Its up and running!

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by twobells, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. twobells

    twobells
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    My connection went all weird at 1800 so i unplugged, rebooted and my eyes went as big as saucers as the speed jumped to 2.56mb !
    Its been running steady at 20mb for an hour now.

    tb

    update: networking in task manager is showing 22% usage of a 100mbit lan card connection....

    9 minutes left of a 8gb file.

    snapshot: http://www.freefilehosting.org/public/pview/40594/20mb_VM_Upgrade.JPG
     
  2. L11

    L11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yea and i'm finally getting 10mb out of my 10mb connection..
     
  3. andrewilley

    andrewilley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +93
    Where are you both based, I asume this will be a geographical rollout?

    Andre
     
  4. twobells

    twobells
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8

    Guildford.


    tb
     
  5. Robert85

    Robert85
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1

    I think L11 was being sarcastic :smashin:
     
  6. andrewilley

    andrewilley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +93
    Could be... :oops:

    Andre
     
  7. twobells

    twobells
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Forgot to mention uplaod speed is not quite 100k, averages at 86k on dslreports but remember thats a us site.
    I ran a ntl/vm comparison test against other ntl/vm users:

    "Compared to the average of 75 tests from ntl.com:
    * download is 714% better, upload is 159% better"



    tb
     
  8. L11

    L11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Oh yea on a serious note i did a speed test twice and my upload speed was 470Kbps.. i though it's supposed to be 400 on 10mb
     
  9. Robert85

    Robert85
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1


    Does it mention any 20mb config file in your modem logs? (accessed via http://192.168.100.1)
     
  10. qap

    qap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    The 4mbit will be upgraded to 10mbit I assume. Will it also get the 20mbit upload of 768kbps? or will only 20mbit get that upgraded upload?
     
  11. VL.VoOdoO

    VL.VoOdoO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    At the moment, only the 10's go to 20, no planned upgrades for the other services.
     
  12. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,133
    So who, what, where have been upgraded..? Anyone know if Bristol is in for some 20Mb goodness..?
     
  13. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London, centre of the universe
    Ratings:
    +637
    Mines still the same
    Central London.

    Kevin, hows the newsgroups going?
     
  14. rbates51

    rbates51
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really? When I called Retentions last week to get a better deal, one of the sweeteners they told me was that my 2MB internet would be upgraded to 4MB this month.
     
  15. VL.VoOdoO

    VL.VoOdoO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    You're not the first person to say that. The other person I read about in the Virgin newsgroups. They were told by Virgin's Alex Brown, that he (Alex Brown) had no knowledge of any planned updates for the lower services. Make of that what you will ;)
     
  16. Kebabhead

    Kebabhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +508
    Rebooted modem last night but no change still on 10Mb
     
  17. emporer

    emporer
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,626
    any idea if a ntl 200 modem is capable of 20mb? i'm on 10mb at the mo.
     
  18. kingo

    kingo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Im on the Ntl 120 and would like to know the same if anyone has any ideas. their is still no info on the virgin site as usual !!!
     
  19. dave17

    dave17
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im going to try and re-boot my modem tonight and see if there is any changes. i hope there is :D
     
  20. gerbilly

    gerbilly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +94
    Mines still showing as 9.2mg.:(
     
  21. raecool

    raecool
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  22. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,133
  23. chris57

    chris57
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +157
    Northeast is also TBC and it says 'Keep an eye on this page as we'll be announcing more dates throughout the Summer'. Doesnt look like the service upgrade we were all led to believe would be happening May or thereabouts.
     
  24. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    But when will they start charging us the £2.00 privialidge.

    My area isnt even mentioned, but i assume I am in the Harringay area which is TBC

    Oh well...

    Their media whiz kits making promises their technical whiz kids cant keep it would seem

    Adrian
     
  25. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    IIRC, Alex Brown was a Telewest bloke and his word could be taken as gospel on the support newsgroups.
     
  26. Tazz66

    Tazz66
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think mine is tomorrow ???? Oxfordshire or so the letter i got said , but we will see ???:cool: but looking at that virgin link NOT !!! :( but after the 10 meg upgrade my router keeps disconecting :thumbsdow ok with the router disconected ???:suicide:
     
  27. nofear01

    nofear01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +86
    I live in hemel which is between Luton and Watford (all most) :lease: :lease: :lease:
     
  28. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    A simple question....

    How does one access these virgin news groups?

    Adrian
     
  29. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    I'm a former TW customer, and my news server settings are news.blueyonder.co.uk. Do a search for Newsleecher (£) or search for a free newsgroup reader. I do believe there are binaries (files) to download as well....apparently....allegedly...*cough*
     
  30. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    Set up my outlook express at the moment..

    Need to decide which groups to read.... subscribe to

    Adrian
     

Share This Page

Loading...