Virgin announce 2 million TiVo Customer Milestone

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by hodg100, Feb 12, 2014.


    1. hodg100

      hodg100
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,087
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,460
    2. Ash3000k

      Ash3000k
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2013
      Messages:
      162
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      21
      Location:
      Stoke on Trent
      Ratings:
      +20
      I have had a virgin tivo box since they first launched, however the tivo boxes look fugly, very slow responsiveness with on screen menu's/ searching etc, first boot takes a millennium,

      On the whole I much preferred my Sky HD+ box, really fast interface, did the job very well and only got better with software patches,

      The only reason I keep this is that I cant use the sky box!

      Other than the above it does the job I suppose...
       
    3. max222

      max222
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 11, 2002
      Messages:
      784
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +118
      I have both sky and virgin - sky is expensive and wil be going - but virgin TiVo is slow and with poor menu system - not a good box in my view but cheaper
       
    4. carl.waring

      carl.waring
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 15, 2008
      Messages:
      1,197
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      51
      Location:
      Knaresborough
      Ratings:
      +80
      Whereas mine is (since the last update at least) fast and responsive overall.

      Weird! :)
       
    5. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      46,110
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +11,055
      The Virgin hardware is already outdated and TiVo are soon going to have to start addressing the fact that software development for the boxes they sell in the USA will no longer port as easilly onto older hardware as it did when they first proposed the deal with the cable networks they now work with.

      I found this of more interest than the number of Virgin Media TiVo customers:


      Virgin Media Agrees Curated Wi-Fi Deal With Devicescape



      Virgin Media selects Devicescape Wi-fi solution
      Published on Wednesday, February 12th by Submit Release
      Smartphone users gain automated free access to UK Wi-fi footprint

      Press release


      Virgin Media selects Devicescape Wi-fi solutionGoMo News


      SKY already operates a similar service for its customers in partnership with tThe Cloud and has done so for the past 2 years.

      BSkyB to Offer Customers Free Unlimited WiFi Access via The Cloud
       
      Last edited: Feb 13, 2014
    6. metalguru

      metalguru
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 4, 2005
      Messages:
      1,214
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +136
      Last edited: Feb 13, 2014
    7. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      46,110
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +11,055
      The spec is better on paper and the Horizon box has a faster processor, but reports seem to suggest it is bug riddled? Liberty appear to have gone with a lame duck? The Horizon is also made by one of TiVo's main competitors so I can't see either side wanting to cooperate and allowing the use of the Horizon box in conjunction with TiVo software? I personally see Virgin opting to let their customers buy their own TiVo. I think this the only way that customers will be able to keep pace with the ever faster hardware because I can't see Virgin replacing all their boxes every couple of years in order to bring themselves back inline with the advances in software and CPU speeds? Even the slighly more up to date Horizon box is getting a little long in the tooth now so even that box will need to be replaced at some point in the not so distant future.
       
      Last edited: Feb 13, 2014
    8. metalguru

      metalguru
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 4, 2005
      Messages:
      1,214
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +136
      I think "bug riddled" is the name of the game concerning media boxes, all mine have been bug riddled!!!!!
       
    9. DavidT

      DavidT
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 30, 2001
      Messages:
      2,488
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Ratings:
      +257
    10. DavidT

      DavidT
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 30, 2001
      Messages:
      2,488
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Ratings:
      +257
      And if customer do buy their own Tivo they will also have to buy their own support package, no different to Sky.

      David
       
    11. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      46,110
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +11,055
      That is the only unfortunate aspect of it, but who cares if it means you actually have the opportunity of havinng hardware that is fit for purpose? Hardware would be covered in the UK by a 6 year warranty anyway.
       
    12. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      46,110
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +11,055
      The external design can be changed. The Virgin TiVo uses much the same components as utilised by ONO in Spain and Canal in Scandinavia, but the exterior casing designs are totally different. The Virgin box does look particularly cheap and nasty though. It's the broadcom chipset that is important in terms of TiVo compatibility. The Virgin TiVo isn't specifically a TiVo box, more a cable STB that can run the TiVo software. Virgin initially wanted to use the V+ as a TiVo, but were told that this wasn't possible. Just think how slow the V+ would have been if running the TiVo software.
       
      Last edited: Feb 14, 2014
    13. metalguru

      metalguru
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 4, 2005
      Messages:
      1,214
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +136
      Ugly my arse!
       
    14. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      46,110
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +11,055
      now, now. I'm sure someone out there likes it?

      No pictures!
       
    15. metalguru

      metalguru
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 4, 2005
      Messages:
      1,214
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +136
      Now I wonder why I was expecting that!
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...