1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

viewsonic 30" ??? any good?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by RockStar, Apr 21, 2005.

  1. RockStar

    RockStar
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi, sounds like you need to stay well clear of this one.... just looked up the product on viewsonic website and yes it has 2 x NTSC Tuners! it is designed only for the American market! big no no
     
  3. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    Have sent saverstore customer services an email stating this TV is designed for the American market because it has 2 x NTSC tuners! wouldn't want there customers returning the TV because they can't receive terrestrial TV! :eek:
     
  4. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    Full spec:-

    * Panel Type 30" (29.53" viewable diagonal area), TFT (Thin Film Transistor),
    Active Matrix WXGA LCD, 1280*768 vertical stripe
    *Color Anti-reflective coating + Anti-glare coating
    *Viewing angles 170° (H) / 170° (V)
    *Input signal Video/Audio RGB Analog * 1 (75 ohms, 0.7 Vp-p)/Mini-Stereo *1
    *H/V separated (TTL) for PC
    *DVI-D * 1 (HDCP support)
    fh:30-80 kHz, fv:50-75 Hz
    *TV system antenna / NSTC in US and TW * 2
    *Composite Video * 2 / RCA (L/R) Stereo * 2
    *S–Video * 2
    *Component Video * 2 (YCbCr / YPbPr) / RCA (L/R) Stereo * 2
    *Composite * 1 / RCA (L/R) Stereo * 1, Headphone Mini-Stereo *1
    *RS232
    *Output signal Video RGB Analog * 1 (75 ohms, 0.7 Vp-p)
    *RCA (L/R) Stereo * 1
    *Subwoofer RCA * 1
    *Compatibility PC Up to 1280 x 1024 Non-interlaced
    *Macintosh1 Up to 1280 x 1024
    *Resolution Supported 1280 x 1024 @ 60, 75 Hz
    1280 x 768 @ 60, 75 Hz
    1024 x 768 @ 60, 75, 85 Hz
    800 x 600 @ 60, 75, 85 Hz
    640 x 480 @ 60, 75, 85 Hz
    720 x 400 @ 70 Hz
    Recommended 1280 x 768 @ 60Hz
    *Speaker Output 10W (x2 Channels)
    *Power Voltage 100-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz (auto switch), 0.8A/1.8A
    *Operating conditions Temperature 32° F to + 95° F (0° C to + 35° C)
    *Humidity 20% to 90% (no condensation)
    *Altitude To 10,000
    *Storage conditions Temperature -4° F to + 140° F (-20° C to + 60° C)
    *Humidity 5% to 90% (no condensation)
    *Altitude To 36,000
    *Dimensions Physical 860 mm (W) x 524 mm (H) x 203 mm (D)
    *Weight Net / Gross 37.5 lb (17.0kgs) / 48.5 lb (22.0kgs)
    *Regulations FCC-B, UL / c-UL, DOC-B, NOM, CE, MPRII, CCC, BSMI,C-Tick
    *Power saving On 185W (Blue LED)-
    *modes Active Off <3W (Orange LED)-
    *Preset Timing Mode (Pre-adjusted to GTF 1280x768 at 60Hz)-
    *Warning: Do not set the graphics card in your computer to exceed these refresh rates; doing so may result in
    permanent damage to the LCDTV Display.
    Note: Product Specifications are subject to change without notice.
     
  5. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    Appologies for going on :rolleyes: admittedly this would be fine as a PC monitor, but for your money there are cheaper 32inch LCD to do this, dabs do one for £799, and has a PAL tuner too :D also the viewsonic does not have any scart inputs, and its only RGB input is via PC D-SUB.
     
  6. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
  7. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    nice TV :) just had another look at viewsonic TV since i've been told by savastore that my email has been passed onto the right department, and guess what the cheeky gits have modified the spec by removing the NTSC tuners to fool customers! :eek:
     
  8. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    Maybe they screwed up the spec as there is a european model European N3000W :confused:
     
  9. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,622
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +512
    No mention in the European Spec as to what tuner/s it has on board....strange this should be left out. Another 15:9 panel I'm afraid.
     
  10. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    You guys are all reading the specifications for the US model only! Get a grip! The Euro one has the right tuners and has scarts.

    http://www.homecinemachoice.com/cgi-bin/displayreviews.php

    As you can see it is fairly highly regarded, but that was a few months ago, and there are other sets around now with similar abilities and full 16:9 aspect ratios.

    Probably best avoided then, even at £1000, but not because of its connectivity which is excellent!

    Jimmy
     
  11. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi Jimmy, i do understand that there is a european model (as i mentioned earlier) but the saverstore website link if you go to product specification you'd see they spec the US model!?? :confused:
     
  12. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Huge apologies!

    Dis you have a look at the 32" version? Couple of hundred pounds dearer but OK. 15:9 again though.......no good really.

    Jimmy
     
  13. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,023
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    Apology accepted :D 32in looks nice :cool: but expensive
     
  14. djsat2

    djsat2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this unit and while ive never used the built in tuners im pretty sure the manual says PAL, i bought mine from savastore.

    Its a great screena and while this is my first large LCD screen im very happy with it and its performance. I dont have any dead pixels and have never had any evidence of blurring or slow response times.

    I have a xbox hooked up (hidef, halo 2 looks good), NTL digital, a PC (via DVI, got the right res and playing hi-def clips looks good) and a gamecube. The only draw back i found were that for me the speakers were inadequite and are not removable so while i have my own sound setup the TV speakers are redundant.

    Im veyr pleased with this unit and would reccomend it, just p!ssed that the price on it has come down so much since i bought it last nov.!!
     
  15. RockStar

    RockStar
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    can you guide me in the right direction?

    I'm thinking of building a home media centre with Xp MCE...

    anyone got any experince?

    my main question is can a MCE box be domained and join a LAN ???

    ta
    R
     

Share This Page

Loading...