Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Viera Service Menu - It Hates Me!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by elliot_01, Apr 4, 2005.

  1. elliot_01

    elliot_01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could some kind person point out what I am doing wrong :lease:

    As far as I know I have now done all of the above, setting the DVB channel *and* analogue to 99, but the only screen I get is a 'self test', which gives me a screen of various values (unchangeable) with a postive test result for each. At least I know my screen's not ill :cool:

    Unfortunately, after exiting this screen, my Viera loses *all* of its settings, including all tuned stations. No biggie...

    Anyway, nothing certainly happens if I try using the green button, or the volume/channel -/+ or the thumb-pad... I'm confused! No service menu *apparently* in sight.

    Or am I being a dufus :oops:

    I have searched the forum history, but the only alternative explanation on how to enter the service menu says to press the status button 3 times, while holding down the v/- 0n front panel.

    My remote has no 'status' button!? :rolleyes:
     
  2. NESSIEHUNTER

    NESSIEHUNTER
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Neither does mine! :censored: very annoying.
     
  3. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    status button is the one with the little cross above it
     
  4. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    True but the original poster has a Viera NOT a PW7 panel so his remote will not have a Status button.

    Elliot, you need to follow David's instructions for the Viera to access the service menu. It should work, has worked for me in the past. Two key points the analogue tuner must be on channel 99 whether you use it or not and when you press index on remote (under yellow) you must press v/- on front panel (under the flap) at the same time.

    S.
     
  5. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    sorry...only read last bit as was using pda *slap wrist*
     
  6. elliot_01

    elliot_01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems I was indeed being a dufus and confusing the 'I' button with the INDEX button on the remote - DOH!

    Very happy now as I've managed to reclaim about 10% of all my DVDs by correctly adjusting the horizontal overscan. Woohoo. :thumbsup:

    I've revised the instructions to clear up some potential confusion for future readers:

    Accessing Panasonic Viera Service Menu 1 and 2:
    • Go into Sound options and set BASS to maximum.
    • Set TREBLE to minimum.
    • Select channel 99 on analogue tuner.
    • Press the DVB/Analogue button to go to DVB tuner (FreeView digital).
    • Press the TV/AV button on remote and select the input you wish to adjust: AV3, AV4, etc.
    • Select which ASPECT ratio you wish to adjust: 4:3, 16:9 etc.
    • Simultaneously press V/- on the front of the panel and the INDEX button on the remote (next to the HOLD button).
    - The brightness of the screen will increase as it goes into Dynamic mode -

    - The screen should now be displaying Service Menu 1 -
    • Using the GREEN button on the remote, scroll through the options until you get to 'JPEG Viewer'.
    • Press HOLD on the remote for a few seconds
    - The screen should now be displaying Service Menu 2 -

    • Now use GREEN to advance through the options, while RED steps backwards.
    YELLOW decreases a value, while BLUE increases a value.

    When you have changed a value, press STR on the panel to store the setting, before moving onto another setting, else it will discard your new setting.
    • Press EXIT on the remote when you have completed your changes.
    Thank you to AV-Forums' David-Sheekey for the original Viera Service Menu guide.
     
  7. kenji-san

    kenji-san
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,
    i have a problem with the 42pa50 (42pe50 in uk) with black vertical bars in either of the screen when it recieves a progressive signal, and i want to adjust the horizontal size.
    I have accessed the service menu, but i can't understand it! :confused:
    Where is the horizontal size configuration?
    Also, it's only when it recieves a progressive signal that the bars appear, when it receives interlaced signal it fills out the screen, so is there a way to ONLY adjust horizontal size for progressive signal only?
    Anyone knows where i can adjust this in the service menu?? :lease:

    kenji-san
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice