1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Viera Progressive de-interlacer?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by reklor, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,038
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +193
    Hi folks. I understand the Viera range of Plasmas are Prog scan. If you feed it a DVD signal via component (with the dvd player set to progressive)......is that all you need to do? Or can you switch the prog on/off on the plasma?

    Any help would be GREAT :thumbsup:
     
  2. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223
    The plasma will detect an incoming progressive signal from the dvd player and display it as is. You will turn it on and off from the dvd player. I am pretty sure that there is no option in the standard user menu on the Viera to turn of an incoming progresive signal.
    With progresive scan the plasma will auto switch to wide mode,so if the source material you are watching is not anamorphic it will stretch the picture.
     
  3. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,038
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +193
    cheers mate, very helpful. I thought that was the case but after reading a few posts on the dvd forum i thought it was possible to have one or the other (prog scan from the dvd player and not the tv and vice versa).
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    All fixed pixel devices have video processing built in and work in a progressive mode(lets forget alis plasma right now). The Vierra is a progressive display just like all it's competitors are as well. You cannot turn off its ability to display images progressively. The ability to choose whether it does the de-interlacing to progressive comes if you send it an interlaced signal or a progressive one. If it's progressive it just scles things to fit pixels and if you send it interlaced it de-interlaces then scales to ft pixels....ths is pretty much what David was explaining...

    Gordon
     
  5. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Gordon, would you agree that the picture is better for handerling straight lines and Jaggies if you use a progresive signal from the dvd player? I think this was the conclusion we came to when we tried on mine, using your startrek inserection disc, wasnt it?
     
  6. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    I think I used Insurrection to show you what film detection is....not sure...I would suggest that prog scan from most dvd players is likely to be the best solution jus tnow though.

    Gordon
     
  7. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223

    Yes, thats right, but the Viera was not showing a progresive image when feed a standard signal from the dvd player, was it?
    I know that the straight lines were totaly clenaed up when progresive was swithced on and the jaggies all but disaperaed, but when it was a standard signal it was a lot worse. :)
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    The plasma is ALWAYS displaying a progressive image. It cannot do anything else. All that is changing is where the conversion from interlaced to progressive takes place. In this case the DVD player was better than the plasma.

    Gordon
     
  9. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223


    Ah, now you see that is why you are the expert in such matters. Thanks for clearing that up. ;) :smashin:
     
  10. Selectortone

    Selectortone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very interesting thread.

    In a previous thread the concencus seemed to be that the progressive output from the average DVD player/recorder (in my case a Panasonic DMR-E55) would be inferior to the progressive processing performed on an interlaced output from the same player by the panel's electronics (a PWD7) - on the basis that the electronics in a £200 DVD player are likely to be inferior to the electronics in a £1.5k plasma panel.

    I'd love to hear some more comments from the experts on this.
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    tis true you can quite easily tab between Prog and interlaced output so check for your self (low end DVDR i would stick to interlaced) David Which DVD player do you have?
     
  12. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to butt in, i posted this last week and got no reply.
    Which would be better Prog from a 757ai or interlaced and let the PW7 do the de interlacing?
    Thanks
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    try it yourself and see its not hard to flick the buton
     

Share This Page

Loading...