1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Viera LCD - Help!!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Beck, Aug 3, 2004.

  1. Beck

    Beck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    I've just bought a viera 32in LCD and cannot believe how bad the smearing is, especially whilst watching Sky. The picture is better, though still not impressive, when the digibox is off so I'm receiving terrestrial channels in the normal way. Does anyone know how I can rectify this as currently I'm feeling like I've wasted my cash.... :lease:
     
  2. drphibes

    drphibes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi

    Is your Sky box outputting a RGB signal and if so is the input socket on the lcd display set to accept a RGB signal?.

    I have also read many times on these boards that is might be a good idea to disable any picture processing features the set might have .

    Drphibes
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    what is it like using the DVB tuner in the set?
    set sky box to RGB and get a good quality scart lead LCD's are very sensitive to noise.
     
  4. Beck

    Beck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll have to check the RGB setting, is this something I can alter via the menu options? I think there is a picture noise filter which I can potentially turn off which I understand may help.

    The picture is better using the DVB tuner but still not great, will a better scart cable improve this?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    a quality scart and setting to RGB makes a huge difference on sky!!!!!
     
  6. Beck

    Beck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok great, I'll try it out this evening. Being a bit of an amateur at all this is there any partucular Scart spec (?) I need to look out for? How much should I be looking to spend?

    Advice much appreciated!
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  8. Beck

    Beck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers, I'll let you know., I just hope it solves the smearing!
     
  9. usman24

    usman24
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,780
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi! Becks, you may need to connect the screen with component leads and use a progressive scan output from a suitable player, this may reduce the smearing. Your'e not the only one who feels like you have wasted money. I have serious colour issues with my hitachi 42" plasma
     
  10. usman24

    usman24
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,780
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +23
    p.s. I forgot to mention: I know you have a problem with sky but its still worth experimenting with different sources to eliminate the fact that screens at fault. [refer the previous message.]
     
  11. Beck

    Beck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the advice and sorry to hear you're also having difficulties. Being completely honest I have no idea what a progressive scan output is and I'm really not sure what to tweak regarding the RGB signal! I'd be v grateful if someone could explain things in v simple terms (sorry, but just not up to speed!)
     
  12. drphibes

    drphibes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Progressive scan is for dvd playback and nothing to do with sky .

    Tweaking your rgb ? , I think it really is just a matter of setting the sky box to output a rgb signal and the display's scart socket set to recieve a rgb signal and not a composite one.

    I agree with usman24 though when he suggests trying out as many possible playback options e.g dvd,sky,vcr just to see if the problems are on all of these.

    Drphibes

    Ps Make sure that the scart you are using for sky (on the display) is capable of taking a rgb signal.
    My Sharp Aquos has 3 scarts and only 2 of these will accept a rgb signal.
     
  13. remdude

    remdude
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have the same TV (Panasonic TX-32LXD1) and use AV1 with my Sky Box. From what I remember you dont have to set the TV to accept RGB, just, as the others say configure your SkyBox to output RGB.

    You may want to check your signal strength and quality, these may affect the picture quality you are receiving.

    If nothing works they may be a problem with your set, becuase when I watch Sky the picture is excellent quality.
     
  14. Beck

    Beck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    good to know you're pleased with the set generally. The DVD quality is superb so I'm assuming it is just a sky issue. Can you tell me exactly how to configure the sky box to output RGB?
     
  15. remdude

    remdude
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I cant remember from the top of my head, if you ring Sky they will go through it with you properly im sure.

    You should still upgrade your scart lead as well, I have just purchased a new one from the links in the earlier posts, there offereing 10% off at the moment becuase they cant ship till next week.

    Hope you get it all sorted.

    REMDUDE
     
  16. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,619
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +354
    Do you have a dvd player hooked up with component leads/prog scan output? What difference are there between prog scan component and rgb scart? Just interested as I'm waiting for RGB to arrange a delivery of the smaller tx26" and I've currently got an video only RGB cable but had ordered a component lead.
     
  17. ctodd

    ctodd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have been very happy with this set myself, although Sky picture quality does vary.

    To change output to RGB you do the following.

    Select Services
    Then option 4 'System Setup'
    Option 1 'Picture Settings'
    Scroll down to Video Output and change from PAL to RGB'

    Save the settings and you are all done.

    Hope this helps.

    Chris
     
  18. Beck

    Beck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    that's great, thanks very much!!! I'll let you know.....
     
  19. Beck

    Beck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think I've finally sorted it. I've switched the signal on the Sky box and played with the settings and the picture has improved dramatically. I have new scart leads on the way which I hope should only add to the quality.

    thank v much for all your help, now very pleased with the set and recommend it highly! :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...