1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Videologic DAB tuner

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by Neil69, Apr 27, 2002.

  1. Neil69

    Neil69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leigh
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi, I'm thinking about buying a videologic DAB tuner. I was just wondering about the outside ariel I've got. It's a circular FM one, Will this work with DAB or will I have to change it alltogether? Also I have a Yammy AX-1 amp, when using a fibre optic lead for digital PCM sound, where should I connect it for the best results? This amp only has analog phono inputs for a radio tuner. Should I just stick to a good pair of phono leads?
    Cheers, Neil
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :cool: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
     
  2. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont' know about the ariel, but if your Yammy has assignable digital inputs, just assign it to the tuner.

    If not. just use the next spare optical input you have and select that source to hear the digital transfer from the DAB.

    Nathan
     
  3. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The operating instructions (downloadable so you can check yerself) suggest trying an existing aerial (TV or FM) to see if you do get good results - there could never be any hard and fast on this issue.

    Mike.
     
  4. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    I know something about this subject :)

    DAB runs on Band 3 (about 220 MHz) rather more than twice the frequency of FM, so the aerials need to be half as big. The signal is vertically polarised too, so the aerial needs to be vertical.

    OTOH DAB has been designed to be immune to multipath reception and for transmitters within about 50 miles of each other to add up signals rather than interfere, so in areas of adequate signal strength an omni directional aerial is best. The system only needs about 10 - 20 microvolts of signal to work reliably, compared with stereo FM which needs about 30 times more than that for full quieting. However current DAB transmitters have less power than FM ones.

    The upshot of all this is to try your FM aerial first as there may be enough stray signal to make it work just fine. If not (indicated by no reception or burbling noises disturbing the audio) then get a proper DAB aerial.

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  5. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    The best quality DAB startions will stream at maximum 160kbps. For this quality of sound any odd cable will do. Wth regards to audio quality DAB in the UK is a big miss. Check http://www.digitalradiotech.co.uk/ for more information about DAB. If you are after high quality sound from the radio station yuo'll need to go to DSat.
     
  6. Beamer

    Beamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +5
    Neil, Just a thought.

    If you are only thinking about it, you may want to check out using your Sky reciever if you have one for radio reception. I have the Technics digital tuner and feel that the Sky Sat receiver knocks the socks off the digital radio receiver reception!

    FYI I am using a Sky+ receiver with a digital connect to the amplifer. I have not had my tuner on very much since I installed Sky+! I appreciate I do not have access to every station that the Technics tuner has but most of the important ones are there for free!
     
  7. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Check out www.digitalradio.com for local transmitter info etc.

    I'd like to go digital as it were, and this is the only! affordable DAB unit at the moment. I'd like to think that Arcam could produce something along the lines of the £300 mark when the market allows. I'm into badges. :D Hope you can do something about this Mr. Dawson.;)
     
  8. GETanner

    GETanner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +76
    I use my Sony DAB Radio off a standard FM aerial and get all the stations from Crystal Palace (20 miles away in that direction).

    the aerial is horizontal.

    Guy
     

Share This Page

Loading...