video_ts, now what?

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by Legacy, Feb 9, 2009.

1. Legacy

Legacy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm in the process of ripping my DVD collection to an external HDD in order to play my DVD's through media centre software. At the moment I am using xbmc as my media centre, and I'm on MacOS X Tiger.
    My problem is that when I have ripped the DVD I have a Video_TS folder, and what I want is a single file playable through xbmc, however I want to retain the DVD quality of the original collection of .VOB files.

So if one of you kind souls could either point me towards a way to turn the contents of a Video_TS file into a single, dvd quality file OR tell me how to watch Video_TS files as a single movie in xbmc, it would be very much appreciated!

Thankyou!

2. marky.b

marky.b

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    im not an expert although i do dabble a bit
    the only single file i can think of is converting the vob files in to avi , divx

3. Legacy

Legacy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hmm, I've thought about that, but won't that lessen the quality?

I'm not bothered about preserving menu's or special features on the disks as long as I have the main feature. Perhaps a way to convert several .vob files into one big .vob file might work, but I have no idea how to do that or what program to use...

4. StevieBuck

StevieBuck

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +674
    If you convert to something like DivX then it will take quite some time to get through all your movies, and yes re-encoding to another format will always result in some form of quality loss.

Joining the .vob files to one big one should be easier and quicker. Something like this may be what you're looking for:

VOBMerge

Failing that have a look around the rest of the site at videohelp.com as I'm sure they'll have info on what you're trying to do.